We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will ALWAYS stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will ALWAYS stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is absolutely amazing. Had stayed there in 2009 while attending a concert and the experience last week was just as wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel couldn't be better. Being completely non-smoking and pet-free was one of the things I liked best.

Everything about this facility is first-class, from the suites, to the amenities, (can we say cooked-to-order omelets)? I have recommended this hotel to my family and friends. If you are in a mood to be treated like royalty at a hotel that is close to concert venues, shops and awesome Irish pubs, then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: I don't see how any room at this hotel could be better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctfan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear ctfan_10,
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind works and look forward to sharing them with our staff! We hope to see again when your travel plans bring you back to Syracuse.
Best Regards,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    121
    15
    11
    3
See reviews for
93
135
20
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tully, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Of all the hotels I have stayed, my experience at the Jefferson Clinton Hotel was the worst. Our room was next door to a group of noisy partiers. They had been out but came back at 2:00 in the morning and were so loud they woke us up. I called the front desk and complained. They came up and broke up the party but 15 minutes later the couple next door were having a very loud argument. The walls were so thin, we could hear every word clearly. I called the front desk again. They came up and "talked" to the couple again and all was quiet for about 15 minutes when the couple renewed their argument. I called the front desk a third time and got the "we'll come up and talk to them" response a third time (like that actually worked). By that time, it was 3:00 in the morning, we had gotten hardly any sleep so we decided to leave. We got dressed and packed our belongings. We met security at the elevator (that's how long it takes them to respond the third time). They charged us 180.00 at check out for the whole miserable experience. I will never stay there again nor recommend the place to anyone I know.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Pamela G:
Thank you for being a recent guest of ours and we sincerely apologize about the problems you encountered while staying with us. We did have a chance to speak with another traveler in your party and are very appreciative for the feedback we received. This information is invaluable to us in our efforts to continuously improve. Thank you again and we sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs in the future. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Nork
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

There's not a lot going on in Syracuse, NY, but the one active area at night is Armory square, and this hotel is right on it.

We decided to stay overnight after coming into town to see a play at the Crouse-Hinds theater, about a 10 minute walk. When we checked in, we were given a $20 gift card for use at the Empire Brewing Company. Armory Square is home to several bars and restaurants and even though we skewed the age curve a bit, we did visit the Blue Tusk after the play and before turning in.

We had an 11th floor suite; it was very attractive and I only wish we had more time to enjoy it. The breakfast buffet, included in the rate, is quite good. The desk clerks were very helpful with directions.

Definitely the place to stay in Syracuse.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NNYDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbusch, Guest Relations Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear NNYDad-
Thank you for being our guest and sharing your thoughts here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed Armory Square while visiting Syracuse and hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here in August for new parents orientation at Syracuse University. It was a bit of an adventure learning how to get around downtown, but we had that under control by the second day.

We were in one of the executive suites, which had ample room for us. I apparently had booked one of the hotel's packages, since we were handed a card for dining expenses at the Dinosaur BBQ. I couldn't recall, because our old computer crashed before the trip, taking all our reservation information with it.

Parking in the small lot behind the hotel is difficult, but there was plenty of parking at the lot just down the block from the hotel. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning, since that filled us up nicely before we headed over to campus.

We enjoyed our stay enough that my wife asked to have our name added to the waiting list for family weekend, but we were too far down the list to get accommodations. We may book early for that next year, unless the rates get jacked up too high, which is possible since all the rooms in town seem to be booked for those days.

Room Tip: Don't wait for the valet parking, because the lot is just a few steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerBait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbusch, Guest Relations Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear TigerBait:
We are grateful to have had you as our guest and are most appreciative of your kind review here on TripAdvisor. We are also delighted to know that you have signed up for our parents mailing and look forward to serving you again on your future visits to Syracuse.
Best regards,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Jefferson Clinton is centrally located and just off the highway. The hotel is clean with a lot of ammentities including a complete complimentary hot breakfast. Free DVD movies are available for viewing which were new releases and complimentary popcorn. The bedding was wonderful. The bathroom included plenty of clean towels. My only comment would be that if you are not used to staying in the city with the city noise, ask for a room at the higher floors.

Room Tip: Loved the executive suite which had a kitchen and living room area that is great for longer business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumperchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbusch, Guest Relations Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Bumperchic-
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and also being a guest of ours. We also appreciate you sharing some pointers that let future guests receive the most out of their upcoming visit. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you upon your returns to Syracuse.
Kind regards,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

I wish I had known in advance that I would be staying in a room the size of my walk in closet at home. Due to the hotel being booked up, I was unable to upgrade. There is no room to hang up clothes (only two hangers provided), no drawer space, shower only, no refrigerator, and an ironing board best suited for someone under 5 feet tall. When I booked the room on line, there was no mention that this particular room lacked most of the amenities of other room options.

While the front desk staff were generally courteous, It seemed they were more interested in proving that I should have somehow known what I was booking on line as opposed to making any sort of accomodation for me. In fact, they offered nothing. I didn't even receive extra hangers I asked for.

If you stay here, make sure you spend the extra money and book one of the two room suites. I can't imagine more than one person staying in one of these rooms - they are that small.

Room Tip: Do not book one the the "mini" rooms. I believe they are numbered 300, 400, 500, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Tim S:
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me directly. As mentioned, we apologize about the situation you encountered while staying with us. We are grateful for your patronage and clearly did not handle the matter appropriately. In addition to using this "mishap" as a training example, we have also made changes to our reservation system to avoid future recurrences. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menlo park, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great property, great staff, great amenities. Staff knows and remembers their guests quickly, morning complimentary breakfast and Tuesday wine/cheese very good, spacious room, free use of laundry, complimentary parking and good location to Syracuse University. Have traveled heavily and never ran across such a great staff. Their rates may be a little higher than others in the area but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from elevator. Jr. Executive Suite has ample room with kitchen and full-sized refrig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrock566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you so much for being our guest and taking the time to write such nice things about us on TripAdvisor. We are truly grateful for your compliments, and are pleased you enjoyed your stay while visiting us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Clinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Property: Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Address: 416 S Clinton St, Syracuse, NY 13202-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Green Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Clinton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is located in Historic Armory Square, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, boutiques, museums and enjoyable evening entertainment. All of our rooms feature premium mattresses with triple sheeting, large televisions with premium channels and complimentary high speed and wireless internet access. Each guest receives our complimentary hot buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jefferson Clinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Clinton Syracuse
Hotel Jefferson Clinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing