We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar!”
Review of J Ryan's Pub

J Ryan's Pub
Ranked #41 of 690 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great bar!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would go here often if I lived in Syracuse. I can only speak for the beer because we did not eat. However, they have 69 beers on tap and one on cask. They run great deals for beer. Last night was Victory Pilsner for $10 a pitcher. The atmosphere was great. The outdoor seating was nice. Would go often if I lived there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmama1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Regular food but great beer selection”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped by this bar for a meal before a Chiefs baseball game. We mainly went for the large selection in beer which did meet our expectations. The food was regular bar food and it was good, just nothing special. This is a great place to go to grab a unique beer and has good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTNYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Amazing selection of beers”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food is pretty good pub food. I love the beef on weck, deep fried pickles and chicken fingers. But their beer selection is awesome. They have 69 beers on tap and if you aren't sure about one, they'll let you try a small sample. They're always adding new and seasonal beers to try. It gets pretty crowded on Friday and Saturday nights.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 333kmg333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanham, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A "Cheers" Bar for Syracuse”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

While biking the Erie Canal we visited the Weighlock Museum near Clinton Square in Syracuse. Looking to refuel before continuing our trek, we were directed by museum personnel to J. Ryan's Pub nearby. What a find! As soon as we walked in the door, we felt at home. This is obvioiusly a neighborhood hangout, but strangers are welcomed into the fold. Lots of flat screens and games to play. Everyone is having a good time. Excellent sandwiches and bar fare, at reasonable prices. Extensive selection of craft beers. Friendly and attentive service. The writers of "Cheers" could have come here for inspiration.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beer and wings or wings and beer.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Best annd broadest choice of draft bees in 'Cuse! Great wings, anyway you want 'em. The beers are from ALL OVER the USA...and they have beer specials eac day, nice patio with friendly service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank UrbanDweler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Ryan's Pub also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to J Ryan's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing