We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky with quirks.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Skyler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Skyler
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Funky with quirks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

A gorgeous building, immaculate and greener than David Suzuki. Quirks? Well, surprises maybe. There is no reception desk, rather a podium where the receptionist stands all day. (There is no chair!) Same for the barkeep. No restaurant, just a self-serve snack bar. The floors squeak! How can that be?? One trumpet they don't blow loudly enough is their location, right on the edge of the campus. It's a safe and pretty neighbourhood, with students all over the place at all hours. And they must have discovered the secret to identify hires who are smart, engaging, competent and have the stamina to stand all day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Steve W,

Thank your for your kind words about our hotel and staff! They are very much appreciated. As stated in your review, the Hotel Skyler prides itself on its unique identity and convenient location. We do hope you choose us for your Syracuse accommodations in the future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    107
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
133
91
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. When you walk into your spacious high ceilings and natural light room it just feels clean and fresh. What a pleasant sensation this room provides . Great proximity to SU campus. Reasonably priced.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jcarb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear jcarb19,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a joy to read and share with our staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Syracuse area.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We loved everything about this boutique hotel. Our deluxe king room was spacious and very clean. Great if you need to add a roll-away bed or crib. Very close to SU campus with free parking in the hotel lot. The front desk also serves as concierge, and can get stretched during busy periods, but overall service is helpful and efficient. Note: Use caution when reserving if you need an accessible room. The corridor leading to our room on the 3rd floor had a step down, so we couldn't take the luggage cart all the way to our room. This layout would be problematic with a stroller or wheelchair. However, overall we loved the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear E H,

It was a pleasure to read your review. Please know that we do offer handicapped accessible rooms on the first floor upon request. In addition, our staff is always happy to offer a helping hand should you need it. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Beautiful hotel, lovely, bright room. 5 minutes from SU and M street at a bargain. We had a spacious King room on second floor. Unfortunately, we were near the stairs and the staff room. The room literally shook every time someone closed a door. The walls are thin, floors creaky--you can hear every movement. I'd stay again, but would ask to be on third floor or away from stairs, elevator and staff rooms.

Room Tip: Third Floor, away from stairs, elevator and staff room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekmr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear ekmr64,

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad your stay was pleasurable and do hope you will choose to stay with us again. We are sorry you experienced unpleasant noise during your stay. Please know that we value the comfort of our guests highly and will be happy to accommodate your preferences in the future!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Usually have stayed at the Sheraton in the past, but will switch to Skyler going forward. Stayed in two rooms, a Treehouse suite and a Queen. Very modern and spacious rooms. Great shower.
No onsite restaurant but a very short walk to M-Street where a variety of food/drink options are.
Room on the first floor definitely had more noise, might be an issue for those who are noise sensitive.
Check in and check out staff were pleasant.
No annoying wifi charges or limitations that other hotels have.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear B P,

We are delighted to be your choice of Hotel while visiting Syracuse! Thank you for the great review and kind words regarding our staff. We look forward to your future visits!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel was wonderful. The location to the SU campus can't be beat. It was nice to be able to walk around and get wherever I needed to be in just a few minutes, or to hop back to the hotel between meetings. The room was amazing! The bed was very comfortable, the temperature was easy to regulate and the shower was great (even though I was convinced I would get water on the bathroom floor... which I didn't.) I liked also that there was a little market so you could grab a drink or snack without having to leave, and the mini fridge in each room was great. There were a few issues regarding the shuttle but the staff was super sweet and everything was resolved quickly. Overall I would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the rooms on the 1st floor just off the bar area (123). I would suggest not stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear MaraJoy,

Thank you for recommending Hotel Skyler on Tripadvisor. Our staff loved reading your review and excited for your return in the near future!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed at the Skyler while attending a conference at a nearby hotel. It was a great decision. The hotel bar was inviting, the room was comfortable, and the overall experience was several steps above a typical conference/hotel overnight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Charley S,

We loved reading your review! Thank you! Please come back and visit us again the next time you are in our area.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler

Property: Hotel Skyler
Address: 601 S Crouse Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1751
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you'll know you're somewhere special - somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You're at Hotel Skyler, Syracuse's first LEED Platinum hotel. Every guest room at Hotel Skyler in Syracuse has a safe, iron/ironing board, iHome clock radio, walk-in shower, flat-panel TV, HDTV, and free high-speed wired and wireless internet, refrigerator and desk. Start each day with a complimentary Artisan Style Breakfast served in the Main Lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Hotel Skyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing