We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, weird hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, weird hotel”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

First everyone that works in the hotel is super sweet and nice. My issues are the following: while I love the LEED platinum idea, certain things don't make sense:
Mu room's hotel's phone didn't work, so if there was an issue, you couldn't call the desk. The bathroom was super cold, and they didn't have basic things: Mouth wash, qtips, etc.. And no room service. Going again next week, let us hope better

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Victor C,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor. We apologize for the phone issues as we did experience some technical interruptions from our provider during your stay, which has since been rectified. We have taken the items you were in need of, mouth wash & Q-Tips and will be adding them to our amenities. We look forward to your next visit with us so you can see these improvements.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    115
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
142
98
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Convenient location to SUNY Upstate medical center hospitals, campus buildings, SU campus, and several restaurants and other business establishments within walking distance. Room was spacious and clean, and staff was nice. Free fast wifi and gated parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear zmah,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! We hope to see you again on your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Park your car in the lot and you can easily walk to just about anything at Syracuse University, SUNY ESF or Upstate Medical Ctr. There is a surrounding commercial district that is typical college town fare, but certainly vibrant. Other parts of the city (downtown / Destiny USA / Fairgrounds) require a short drive. This is a boutique-scale hotel. The small lobby bar is a comfortable place to have one drink while waiting to meet someone and there is a little convenience pantry, but otherwise you go out for food / drink. That is not really a constraint as plenty of choices w/in 5 minute walk. Rooms are modern, stylish and comfortable. Website pictures are fair representation of what you'll find. Unless I need a particular amenity not available here, if I'm in town for a University or medical ctr related purpose, I will always look here first. Convenient, comfortable, fairly priced and a little different... in a good way.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank njkvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear njkvr,

We are grateful to you for taking the time to share your review with us. We were happy to hear that you found our accommodations pleasing and the surroundings convenient. As you highlighted in this review, there are various features of Hotel Skyler that appeal to visitors of Syracuse. It is pleasant to receive feedback such as this and we thank you again. It will be a pleasure to serve you during your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed one night a the Skyler. Got a great deal via hotel.com on our way to Philadelphia. Our room was HUGE. The staff was great. No breakfast, but there is a Bruegger's Bagel shop at a 2 minute walking distance. There is a nice little bar in the lobby, and plenty of stuff to buy (wine, juices, etc.)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Khalie,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Skyler as your traveling pit-stop. We certainty appreciate your kind remarks and are satisfied to know that we meet your needs well. We hope you find the chance to return for an extended visit and explore more of what Syracuse has to offer.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel was interesting in its architecture and layout. The room was a decent size. There was a bit of an odor like formaldehyde in the hall and room. The staff was...there. They did their job, but not much personality or enthusiasm. Fine location, especially to walk to the university.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayJay317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear KayJay317,

Thank you for your review. We apologize that the room was anything less than pleasurable for you. Our staff would gladly have moved your room to another area of the hotel and rectified the odor immediately. Please know that we thoroughly inspect all guest rooms and public space on a daily basis, and anything that needs attention is our priority. We hope to have you as our guest for a second visit.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed there with my husband. Location, room, bathroom and bed were great. The only thing missing was room service or breakfast room. The walk-in shower was big and clean. The massive tv was great and the bed was very big.
The decoration and colors used are very cosy. And the rooms are definitely quiet.
The lobby is great and very cosy too. We didnt order drinks at the bar and i dont know if there was food to sell at the bar. They had a small shop with sandwiches, drinks, ect.
We tried one of the sandwich but it was not great. Wish we could have had a proper meal and also have breakfast in the morning. Thats the only important thing missing there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nprmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear nprmtl,

We thank you kindly for your supportive assessment. We are thrilled to hear that you were pleased with so many of Hotel Skyler’s features. We are a brief stroll from many great dinning choices, or allow us to drive you downtown for dinner. We greatly look forward to you next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Been visiting Syracuse for years but this was our first stay at Hotel Skyler. It won't be our last. Loved the location, convenience, free parking, ambience, and environmental awareness. The lobby was an inviting respite, the staff welcoming and friendly. The room was comfortable and quiet. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 32 in Syracuse
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 32 in Syracuse
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 32 in Syracuse
423 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Address: 601 S Crouse Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1751 (Formerly Hotel Skyler)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you'll know you're somewhere special - somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You're at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, Syracuse's first LEED Platinum hotel. Every guest room has a safe, iron/ironing board, iHome clock radio, walk-in shower, flat-panel TV, HDTV, and free high-speed wired and wireless internet, refrigerator and desk. Start each day with a complimentary Artisan Style Breakfast served in the Main Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing