We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price in clean, Eco friendly hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Skyler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Skyler
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great price in clean, Eco friendly hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked on Hotwire, location was easy to get to from Destiny USA...we didn't explore 'hood, only passing thru for the night.

Staff were awesome, bar and snacks in lobby, massive windows in room...nice place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    107
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
133
91
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Placida, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Skyler this past week and were very impressed! The room was so clean and was decorated beautifully. The staff members were always so helpful. We'll stay there every time we return to Syracuse! Our only complaint, if you can call it that, was the comforter on the bed was too warm for us. We asked for a regular blanket. Housekeeping came immediately with another comforter, but said they had no blankets. So we asked for 2 extra sheets instead and that worked fine. We highly recommend the Hotel Skyler!

Room Tip: There is an elevator, but a few rooms have a few steps before you reach them. If you can't han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a hidden gem in Syracuse. My husband booked this hotel for us this past weekend. All the Canadians out there would love a nice place to stay while shopping at Waterloo Premium.
Loved the room and the stained glass windows in the entrance. Beautiful place and a definite must do while spending the weekend shopping. We were also lucky enough to catch a Syracuse University football game in their dome.

Room Tip: There arte only 52 rooms at this hotel. So once the word gets out I am sure it will be hard to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyz9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garden state travellers
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

What can I say that others haven't already said? We brought up our bikes and they were able to store it w/ easy access. If you're visiting anyone at Syracuse U. - it's just a few blocks from campus. Not in the middle of downtown, but not far either. All the restaurants and the Destiny Mall were within 5-10 minute drives. We were also able to get a discount for our room through tripadvisor & it linked us to expedia!
My reasons for not giving it 5 stars: the bed was adequate, I wouldnt call it the most comfortable. Although the front desk is friendly, when we asked what to do on a rainy day we were told the mall? And the refridgerators (wh/ you pretty much expect to have at any hotel) was only large enough to fit waterbottles - even takeout boxes will not fit. And if you do want to reheat anything, you must go to the lobby - just a minor inconvenience. But those of you who are travelling w/ little ones - that inconvenience can be more annoying .
Despite that, we had a pleasant stay and would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Skyler as a stopover en route to Cooperstown...what a fantastic surprise! Besides the unique building (an old synagogue I believe), I loved that this building is extremely eco-conscious, down to the toiletries in the rooms (Soap without the wasted space in the middle? Genius!). Skyler's staff is extremely friendly and accommodating and with internet and parking included, you really cannot beat the value for what it provides in a good night's sleep and convenience. Not far from the downtown restaurant hot spots (Dinosaur BBQ, Empire Brewing) either. Loved this place, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FullOfWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmdel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved our stay in Syracuse. The staff was wonderful. They have a car service that can take you anywhere in the area and pick you up. It was almost like we had our own personal tour guide, as they pointed out sites and places not to miss. Quiet hotel - had everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great recommendation from friends. Thoughtful, stylish, conveniently located and very energy efficient - all important to us. Parking on premises, fridge, hotel bar, free wifi, nonsmoking hotel, excellent bed and bedding, close to Syracuse U/SUNY ESF. I would stay there every time we go to visit our daughter going to school in the area for the charm and physical sensibilities of the space as well as the comfort of the bed/bedding. Loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDD-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#15 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler

Property: Hotel Skyler
Address: 601 S Crouse Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1751
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you'll know you're somewhere special - somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You're at Hotel Skyler, Syracuse's first LEED Platinum hotel. Every guest room at Hotel Skyler in Syracuse has a safe, iron/ironing board, iHome clock radio, walk-in shower, flat-panel TV, HDTV, and free high-speed wired and wireless internet, refrigerator and desk. Start each day with a complimentary Artisan Style Breakfast served in the Main Lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Hotel Skyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing