We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden for a reason and very environmentally conscience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Skyler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Skyler
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden for a reason and very environmentally conscience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just happened on this place and thankful we did. First we made a reservation with a great price discount at a companion hotel. Once the error was noticed we quickly called and clarified we wanted to stay here. Normally the steep price discount isn't offered at this location and although it was our error they honored the price and in a better room even. Upon check in the lobby is chic and clean. The fireplace and bar are perfect for a romantic get away. The check in desk is a bit covert because I confused it for a restaurant desk. They have a nice pantry for quick items neatly tucked in a nook off the lobby. The cozy bar encourages a nice quite conversation with your company. The queen/queen room was divine. Comfortable beds, clean linens, roomy bathroom. Without your 'key' the rooms have limited electricity demand. The lights are on an activated timer to save wasteful use of unattended lights. The bathroom didn't have a spot of grime typical of all levels of hotels. I wasn't worried about walking on the floor barefooted. Even at the regular prices the quality and attention to detail of the rooms suggests a higher price. I've stayed in flea bags to some of the finest accommodations with what seems to be a conversely relative price point at times. This stay was worth the cost at twice what we paid. We didn't even need to request transportation with the shuttle or limo which is available for guests. It was a very comforting stay and we will return. During this stay we had the children but this would be most suited for couples, solo, or business stay. This is a perfect adult get away spot. Now they do have a tree house suite which I cannot comment on regarding kid friendly but if it is anything like our room then this review would have to be updated. We will have to try that one out too.

Room Tip: If you call be clear you want the Hotel Skyler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerpadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Travelerpa70,

Thank you for taking your time to write up a wonderful and detailed review on Tripadvisor! We really enjoyed reading your comments about the hotel and our staff is excited to accommodate you on your next visit. Hope you’ll be able to check out the Tree House Suite the next time; this will serve as a perfect space for your family.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    107
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
133
91
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
688 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked last minute on Travelocity for $122 plus tax ($40 less than other sites). Located 2 blocks from Syracuse University. In June this is a very quiet place. The hotel is built in an old Synagogue. Our room on third floor was quite large with very high ceilings. All HD channels on the TV. High speed wifi. Breakfast not included. There's a bagle shop that opens at 6AM two blocks up the hill and a Duncan Donuts across the street which you will notice because of the police cars and fire trucks parked outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear carpsenior,

We would like thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Hotel Skyler. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is walking distance from the campuses (SU, ESF, and med school). The neighborhood desperately needed a hotel like this! The renovation of the building is lovely and the rooms were clean, fresh, and comfortable. It is platinum LEED certified which is fantastic all around, and particularly important to me as an ESF alumnae. The notions were nice and also eco-friendly. We loved that recycling is not only available but encouraged! WiFi was fast and included. The selection in the "grocery" was good. We appreciated that a van was available if we wanted to go downtown. The only thing that I would have liked is some kind of breakfast - coffee, tea, juice and maybe a selection of fruit, yogurt, and a muffin. It doesn't have to be full out, but it would make the hotel more competitive for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear S T,

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay. It is great to hear Hotel Skyler exceeded your expectations. Please check out Skyler Bar on your next visit as we offer hand crafted organic coffee and latte’s, juice, muffins, croissants, breakfast sandwiches and more. Market Place also offers sandwiches, salads, Greek yogurts’, parfaits and refreshments. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here on May 18th while visiting a friend who was here for a dance competition. We booked this hotel through Hotwire and got an amazing rate! The staff was incredibly friendly and check in took no time at all! The room was big, modern and clean! I loved the bedding and the mattress was SUUUUUPER comfy!! The hotel is in a great location and we had access to free parking and free wireless internet as well.

Thanks so much for a great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheoLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello TheoLasVegas,

Thank you for the amazing review! We are thrilled to hear Hotel Skyler exceeded your expectations. Please come back and visit us soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Skyler while moving our daughter home from college for the summer. At the last minute our daughter decided that she wanted to stay with us in our room. Staff were very accomodating, as if they frequently hear this request, moving us into a larger suite with a comfortable pull out sofa bed. One of the best things about this hotel is its location, walking distance from the Syracuse University campus. We liked being able to walk to breakfast. Furnishings in our room were of good quality and very comfortable. The layout of the room was well thought out and everything worked well. The only thing I didn't like was the open shower. Too much water got onto the floor of the bathroom, and not enough bath mats were provided. I was also surprised to see that there was no ventilation in the bathroom. Everything else about the hotel is "green" meaning energy efficient. The indoor air quality was excellent and the heating system was quiet at night... a problem we've had at other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bravegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Bravegirl,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at Hotel Skyler. We are happy to hear our staff was attentive with your last minute changes and everything worked out well for you and your family. Enjoy your summer and we hope to see you next time you are visiting your daughter.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in Syracuse for five days to catch up with friends and to meet folks at the university. The hotel's location is ideal and provided complimentary parking (and internet); iot also had complimentary shuttle service to downtown. The room was larger than the "normal" hotel room (wider), had comfortable furnishings, and served my needs. I faced south so had plenty of sunlight through the large windows. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I'd certainly return to the hotel on a future visit to Syracuse. The only negatives were the location of the phone (not on the desk and not able to be moved to the desk) and that it had an odd shaped handset, and that despite having LEED Platinum certification they replaced used soap and shampoo every day. These are obviously minor issues and wouldn't prevent my returning. Of five hotels I have stayed at in Syracuse in recent years, this has been the best given my needs and tastes.

Room Tip: Have a south-facing room if possible, and based on what I saw I would avoid a room on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear LAKlein,

Thank you for being our guest and for your positive comments regarding your recent stay. Please know that your input regarding the location of the phone and the change of bathroom amenities are well appreciated and shared with appropriate managers. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

To be honest, I had no idea when I booked our room that the hotel was only a few blocks away from SU. We went up in February for a Junior visit day. I had picked the hotel because we could get a "divided room" - a king bed in the main bedroom, a sleeper sofa for our teenage son on the other side (as a night owl,he needs his own space but it was definitely on the snug side and there was really no privacy). The building is actually an old synagogue which was also a theater for many years, so it had interesting angles in our top floor room - my husband just referred to it as "funky". I liked the decorating style and the beds were comfortable. I wanted some space without paying for separate rooms (hotel rooms were definitely on the high side, and we were only there for one night) - still, with taxes, it was close to $200 (and the hotel was practically empty). One of the best options was the free van shuttle service to the restaurants since there was a snowstorm in progress - the driver was prompt and courteous. And it's just a couple short blocks to Marshall Street for breakfast or lunch, and then another block to the main entrance at SU, so it's hard to get any closer. They also let us leave our car in the lot while we were at the info session, also saving us time and money, so I would definitely recommend it as an option in the Syracuse area.

Room Tip: It's definitely a bit quirky, so if you have special needs, I would definitely recommend that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetroKitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear RetroKitch,

We are so happy to hear that the location of Hotel Skyler was very convenient for you when visiting Syracuse University. I would like to let you know for future visits, we have a very unique room type called the Tree House Suite which may suit your needs better. We wish the best luck to your son and hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.2 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#16 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler

Property: Hotel Skyler
Address: 601 S Crouse Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1751
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you'll know you're somewhere special - somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You're at Hotel Skyler, Syracuse's first LEED Platinum hotel. Every guest room at Hotel Skyler in Syracuse has a safe, iron/ironing board, iHome clock radio, walk-in shower, flat-panel TV, HDTV, and free high-speed wired and wireless internet, refrigerator and desk. Start each day with a complimentary Artisan Style Breakfast served in the Main Lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Skyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing