We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Leed Platinum hotel next to Syracuse University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is an example of a 21st Century boutique property. Everything about this hotel is magnificent. Hotels like this deserve the patronage of anyone who cares about the environment.

This was a former Jewish temple completely rebuilt on the inside using recycled wood and other products. Large rooms - all unique. Very cozy lobby you'll not want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 441 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Skyler while touring Syracuse University. The minute you walk in the door you are greeted by an inviting fireplace and seating area. Beautiful stained glass windows are behind check-in. The staff was competent and friendly and the coffee at the bar was great! Our room was clean, comfortable and eco-friendly. They deserve their LEED platinum rating. My daughter loved Syracuse University and I loved Hotel Skyler. We will be back in the fall and I am staying here whenever I come to visit her at SU.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed during a snowstorm and spent more time in the hotel as a result. The staff was warm and welcoming - particularly the bartender. With the fireplace, couches, and bar area all in an open area in the lobby, I felt like I was hanging out at a friend's house. It was an informal and relaxed atmosphere - not stuffy like some hotels. The rooms were lovely and the bed was REALLY comfortable! If my son gets accepted to SU, I would come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khayes91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've literally stayed at every hotel in Syracuse, and this one is my favorite: very funky; very cool. Great location for SU-related activities and Varsity Pizza. Staff is very friendly. I highly recommend the Skyler.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobN14607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I chose the hotel due to its TA rating and I have to say it's well warranted. The location is great and it was so easy (and inexpensive) to get around town from there. The hotel itself is gorgeous, I just loved my room. The bar is great too, a bit pricey by what seemed like Syracuse standards but right on target for what I'm used to paying in DC, plus the bartender was a total sweetie who chatted with us for a while. I love that the hotel has a emphasis on being eco-friendly and managed to repurpose such a cool building into a lodging space. I'll definitely stay here again next time I come to won.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NedD459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Travelled to Syracuse earlier this week to take in an NCAA basketball game at the Carrier Dome. The Hotel Skyler looked like the place to stay based on what we saw. It's LEED certification (platinum level) only added to its cache!!
Happy to report that this hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. From it's street presence through to our room, it was crisp, clean and inviting. All of the staff were exceptionally pleasant, helpful and very welcoming. We checked into our room which was spacious, bright and meticulously clean, tidied up and walked to the game with time to spare for the 3:30 start. After the game we walked back to the hotel, enjoyed a glass of very palatable wine at the bar and made arrangements to dine downtown. We had planned to hire a cab but the hotel staff informed us that the hotel limo was available to take us to and from the restaurant of our choosing and yes, this was INCLUDED in our room rate. We then had the pleasure of meeting Bruce who was the driver that evening. Courteous and professional yet at the same time, very welcoming and in possession of a fine sense of humour. "Bruce from the Scuce", as we later learned, was also a great advocate for his city of Syracuse. Knowledgeable of both it's history and present, he made our drive truly enjoyable and really added to our evening.
The next morning I discovered that I had lost one of my gloves which was problematic as it was very cold and the drive north was scheduled to be blizzard like. When I called the front desk to ask if one had been found, the concierge mentioned that the described glove would be found on our room door handle. Unbelievable but there it was!!
All of this speaks to how satisfied we were with the Hotel Skyler but the other key point is that it was a fantastic deal. We stayed under the "Destiny USA" package so in addition to our king bedded room we enjoyed a $25 beverage/food credit (which more than covered our glasses of wine at the bar) and a $25 American Express shopping card good at many of the shopping establishments in/around Syracuse. This for the grand total of $129.00/night plus taxes. Fantastic!!
We plan to return and will definitely stay at the Skyler.

Room Tip: Noticed on the hotel website that you can choose your pillow type. Unfortunately, we forgot to ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debcole22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have stayed at hotel skylar three times while visiting my Syracuse University student. The cleanliness and comfort of this hotel are beyond compare ! Have never been disappointed. Staff extremely courteous...and has a nice bar !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Maryann N,

Thank you for being a loyal guest of Hotel Skyler. We are pleased to hear you enjoy your stay while in Syracuse and look forward to your next visits.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
540 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Address: 601 S Crouse Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1751 (Formerly Hotel Skyler)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range: $129 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you'll know you're somewhere special - somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You're at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, Syracuse's first LEED Platinum hotel. Every guest room has a safe, iron/ironing board, iHome clock radio, walk-in shower, flat-panel TV, HDTV, and free high-speed wired and wireless internet, refrigerator and desk. Start each day with a complimentary Artisan Style Breakfast served in the Main Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing