We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Evening at Hotel Skyler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Skyler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Skyler
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening at Hotel Skyler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We loved this hotel. It was very cute and quaint. The staff was especially friendly and helpful. We stayed here after a day of shopping at Destiny USA (which was 5 minutes away) and before continuing on to Philadelphia. We had a queen size bed on the ground level. The room was small-ish but as a couple, we don’t need much space. However, the bathroom was very big with a large walk in shower feature with a waterfall shower head. The room was very clean and new. The area was very safe as the hotel is located in the university district. There were a number of pubs, shops and treats that were walk able. There is also a business centre and exercise facility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephaniemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear stephaniemck,

Thank you for your superb review regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed some shopping at Destiny USA, which is on its way to becoming one of the biggest malls in the country following the new expansions. Please come back to visit us soon!

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    107
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
133
91
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great Stay. I was in the Syracuse area for a wedding. Excellent stay. Loved the decor of the hotel. Wished the bar had more food choices but excellent stay. Will stay here again in a heartbeat. This hotel was also close to Syracuse University (can walk) and also only a 10 min drive to Syracuse airport. It met all my needs

Room Tip: Loved my room Rm 239
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KOONy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear KOONy,

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we met all your expectations. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night just passing thru syracuse. Place is a transformed temple. The room was a good size on 3rd floor with an architectural arch over window. View from room not the best but it didnt matter. Very energy efficient and clean. The bath products are environmentally friendly. There was plenty of free parking even the pavers were beautiful. Hotel staff very friendly. They just celebrated 1 year in business. Great location near the hospitals and SU although we didn't walk anywhere. No coffee maker in room & it was an extra in lobby. Has a Nice snack shop. Overall nice place would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonesta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sonesta7,

We truly appreciate your nice comments about our staff and the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I absolutely loved the colors and fabrics used in my room. The design and decor of my room and bathroom were spot on. I wish all hotels could have such taste. The lobby is striking with the beautiful stained glass windows. And on top of it all it is an eco friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rombutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Rombutan,

Thank you very much for your great comments about your room and the hotel. We are absolutely delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff looks forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful old reno'd church located in the University hub. Amazing architecture, vault ceilings which made the room feel twice the size. The washroom has an amazing walk in shower with half glass enclosure and a rain shower. Heaven!

The bed was out of this world! Visually pleasing with beautiful linens and oversized pillows framing it. The matress was a new thick pillow top which felt like a cloud. There is a huge wall mounted flat screen tv at the foot of the bed.

There is a small workout room with a couple of treadmills and an elliptical and a desktop computer with a color laser printer for guest convenience. There is free wi-fi as well.

There is gated guest parking and a lively outdoor patio with great loungers and stuffed patio furniture. The who hotel and grounds are smoke free as well! Nice touch.

The hotel offers a free shuttle service into the Armoury Square hub which boasts an array of amazing restaurants and pubs and has an incredible vibe. The shuttle, a sleek black town car, was driven by 'Magoo' - a personable Syracuse local who gave us a mini tour complete with recommendations of the best places to go. He circled the downtown area twice, pointing out the hot spots and then dropped us in the hub. At the end of night we called the hotel and had a shuttle pick us up within10 minutes and take us safely back to the hotel.

Truly an amazing hotel. We will certainly be back on our next trip through Syracuse.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charli70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Charli70,

Thank you for your truly amazing and detailed review. Please know your comments have been shared with our staff to enjoy. We are excited to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I spent this labor day weekend visiting some friends in the area, and booked a room with a king bed for three nights at the last minute. We were charged $149 a night plus tax, which is not bad considering how lovely this hotel is and how last minute we booked over a busy weekend (the weekend of the state fair and the first syracuse football game).

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The rooms were super clean, the bed was super comfortable (some people have complained about the pillows, but I find them just fine), the room was very comfortable in terms of a/c (i was afraid it might be a bit warm because this place is leed platinum, but really it made no difference in terms of comfort), the parking is right next to the entrance, everybody is very friendly and the bar in the lobby, though basic, offers a decent amount of things to eat/drink. I found myself wanting to stay in the room because the room was just so comfortable. I would definitely stay here again (if I ever have to come to Syracuse.) It really made this trip very pleasant.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. It was fine, and though some people complained about noise in other re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank checazzohaidetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear checazzohaidetto,

What a wonderful review to read; we are so happy to hear your stay was satisfactory. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the cleanliness and comfort of your room. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff& Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Wonderful little hotel near the university. Very comfortable, free parking, adorable lobby with great morning coffee, clean and "boutique" feeling. I called their sister hotel to make a reservation and they suggested this one, closer to where i wished to be and a few dollars cheaper. Employees were very nice and helpful. My new place to stay while visiting my student!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbyvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear abbyvt,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We loved hearing you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your return in the near future.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler

Property: Hotel Skyler
Address: 601 S Crouse Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1751
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you'll know you're somewhere special - somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You're at Hotel Skyler, Syracuse's first LEED Platinum hotel. Every guest room at Hotel Skyler in Syracuse has a safe, iron/ironing board, iHome clock radio, walk-in shower, flat-panel TV, HDTV, and free high-speed wired and wireless internet, refrigerator and desk. Start each day with a complimentary Artisan Style Breakfast served in the Main Lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Skyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing