We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Syracuse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a 4 star hotel that isn't called such because it doesn't have the required restaurant. The bar/cafe is, however, charming. I have stayed in half a dozen hotels in Syracuse, though not at Armory Square, and this is by far the best. Yes, it's new, with rich textiles, wonderful wall and floor coverings, and a truly green ethos around energy and materials used. But it's also unusually beautiful as a retrofit of a synagogue, if I am not mistaken. The reno is remarkable. Our room had 15 foot ceilings, custom half circle windows , and an extraordinarily comfortable bed. The location is 5-10 minutes from Syracuse University, and will no doubt be a huge hit once discovered.

Room Tip: Room 328 is spacious and well-appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Capelin,

We are so happy to hear that you were captivated by our unique hotel. Please know your wonderful review was enjoyed by all our staff and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 426 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just wanted to say how very pleased we were with our stay at the Skyler hotel. Booked through hotwire so we went into this blind. The hotel itself was clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was the best. I would surely recommend this hotel to everyone. Great job to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear bfleury,

We appreciate your optimistic outlook on our hotel and are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for giving your kindest recommendations to our future guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

First time in a LEEDS certified hotel. Skyler is evidently one of three in the country with platinum level certification. Light and contemporary interiors. Modern recycled carpeting. LED lights in bathroom, building materials taken from area deconstruction projects. Forty percent of the materials were purchased locally. The building has already been a temple and a theater in past lives. The heating and cooling is provided by a geothermal system. Now that I have experienced this type of hotel, I hope to find more of them. The price was unexpectedly lower than I thought it would be. Lots of large and small green touches too numerous to mention. Very pleasant and light decor, big windows, room fridge, no coffee in the room presumably for reducing energy use and packaging waste though you can get it in the lobby. Nice open lobby with beautiful stain glass (recycled). Check it out for yourself if you are planning a trip to Syracuse. It's a gem. Loved being part of the effort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear Ann J,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you are so enthusiastic about our hotel’s achievement in LEED certification. Once again, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Hotel Skyler has great customer service and it is a truly beautiful hotel. The lobby is bright and welcoming, everyone greets you when you walk through the door. Our room was incredible. It was simple and understated, but spacious and sparkling clean. All of the furniture, even the desk chair, was incredibly comfortable. The king size bed had to be the most comfortable I've ever experienced. Just lounging watching TV, we felt so relaxed. The pillows had the perfect balance of softness and support. I slept like a baby.
Contrary to some other reviews, we had no problem with neighbor/heating system noise. We were on the third floor and the only time I heard other guests was when someone talked loudly going past the door.
I loved the "green" amenities and the subtle earth-friendly accents. The room had a fridge and high-speed wireless internet. Everything is new and modern. We spent some time at the bar downstairs and the bartender made conversation with us and was very nice. There was plenty of off-street parking and the hotel is within walking distance to Marshall Street where there are a number of restaurants and bars.
I have absolutely no complaints. We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor on the corners of the building are pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Jessica S,

We are thrilled to hear Hotel Skyler not only met your expectations but exceeded them. We are happy to know you had a flawless stay with us while visiting Syracuse and are excited for your future stays with us.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

as a last minute idea i found a deal on a web site that offered a room at a very nice rate. So I booked and checked in. First thought as i walked in was Beautiful. once i got to my room i was pleased with the decor, not to mention CLEAN! could not find dirt anyplace. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Hotel Skyler has received many awards for its ecologically sensitive renovations. The hotel staff was helpful, the rooms were comfortable, well controlled temperatures in the room, and everything was new. They have a wonderful bar and sitting area in the lobby with a fireplace, with reasonably priced drinks, coffees, and wines. They do not have a restaurant, but their sister hotel, The Gennesse is 2 blocks away, with great food. The hotel is also convenient to all activities at the University. I believe that I may have gotten an introductory price for the suite I had on the 3rd floor, as the rates were beyond reasonable. I highly recommend this hotel for business and pleasure. At least for the time being, ask for the rooms on the east and south sides of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the south and east side of the building due to construction of a large building acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyc_traveler4678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear NYPerk,

We are much honored by your amazing review of, and recognition of eco-friendliness at Hotel Skyler. Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear your experience at the Genesee Grande’s 1060 Bistro exceeded your expectations as well. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband, our son and I recently stayed at the Hotel Skyler. It was lovely. Our room had a king size bed and a sleep sofa. The room was spacious, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was large, with a nice shower. The hotel is nicely decorated.The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The lobby is pretty. We met friends in the bar/sitting area. It was very comfortable. They did a fabulous job renovating the building.

I would highly recommend the Hotel Skyler and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A guest I met mentioned that although the hotel was very quiet, they were doing construction nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Caryn C,

Thank you for your outstanding review on TripAdvisor. Your inspiring comments have been shared with staff and management to enjoy. We would love to see you and your family next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
1.8 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Address: 601 S Crouse Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1751 (Formerly Hotel Skyler)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range: $121 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you'll know you're somewhere special - somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You're at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, Syracuse's first LEED Platinum hotel. Every guest room has a safe, iron/ironing board, iHome clock radio, walk-in shower, flat-panel TV, HDTV, and free high-speed wired and wireless internet, refrigerator and desk. Start each day with a complimentary Artisan Style Breakfast served in the Main Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing