We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Parkview Hotel(Syracuse)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western The Inn At The Fairgrounds(Syracuse)(Great Value!)
$93
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$157
$149
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
282
139
39
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
139
39
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleed platinumjewish templestained glasssister hotelboutique hoteleco friendly hotelmarshall streetsteel cut oatmealsu campuswalking distancecoffee maker in the roomlocation is greatfree parkingcarrier domeking bedrooms are spaciousbeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 475 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Just stayed at the Hotel Skyler this past weekend after attending a football game at SU. Loved the hotel and the staff. Location was 2 blocks from the campus. Highly recommend. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Denise540,

Thank you so much for your time and remarkable review. Our staff looks forward to your visit next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

A half-century ago was an ad campaign which proclaimed that "You don't have to be Jewish to love Levy's Jewish Rye." Well, in 2011 you don't have to be Jewish to stay at the Hotel Skyler ... even though it is a converted synagogue. Being a retro-fitted space, it does have some quirks. Getting your bags from the elevator to your room can be a bit challenging, with steps and ramps in unusual places. There isn't a restaurant and the bar is very small. And most of the vestiges of the former synagogue are gone except for the Hebrew on the front of the building.

But the lobby is spacious ... in part because the check-in desk is minimal. And the rooms are comfortable.

If you are visiting any of the nearby universities (Syracuse, SUNY-ESF or Upstate Medical) the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KommissarKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Dear KommissarKen,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. We are proud to introduce Hotel Skyler as something extraordinary. This historic building has been reimagined and renovated to meet LEED Design while still retaining some elements of the Temple Adath Yeshurun. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Skyler while visiting the Syracuse University campus. We agree with other reviewers that the hotel and rooms are visually very attractive. The bed was quite comfortable and the hotel gets top marks for cleanliness. The bath facilities were lovely and spotless. We were also quite impressed with the environmental consciousness present almost everywhere in the hotel...an interesting exception would be the plastic wrapped fruit and some of the packaging in Stefan's Market.

We found a few of the staff to be a bit aloof. We came to Hotel Skyler via a coupon/special offer so perhaps we didn't warrant the friendliness others described as we weren't paying for it??

The HVAC was a problem for us, too. It cycled on and off throughout the night. There is also a deep bass pulsing hum that occurs from time to time...we speculated that it was related to the thermal/environmental heating pump/system. It reminded us of the deep hum heard in movies that take place in out space...seriously went right through me.

The woman tending the bar in the morning was quite friendly and helpful and the coffee was excellent! We also stocked up on snacks for our drive home at Stefan's market...a very handy feature.

Overall, this hotel is okay...just be prepared for the reality of the HVAC system and be on the lookout for special offers.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor...perhaps the HVAC in a different room wouldn't have been so disruptive.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_Dee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Dave_Dee22,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to write up a review. Please know we are 100% committed to improving the comfort of our guests and your concerns have been shared with appropriate Department Managers. We look forward to seeing you and your daughter in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The renovation is well done...We stayed 4 nights.. Very, very friendly girl when we checked in. Her collueges were definitely not as nice as she was.. We stayed in the beautiful treehouse suite and it is really adorable, clean and roomy.
The negative : the bathroom was really chilly as was the living area (where my daughter slept),even with the heating on (which made an incredible noise), so at night we had to turn it off...(first night we slept very bad because of the noisy heater)...The upper bedroom was warm though..
The lobby : very clean but not cosy, (lightning too bright)..If we visit our son again at Syracuse University we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-Seifert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Dear M-Seifert,

Thank you so much for your contributions on TripAdvisor. Please know, your comments and suggestions are very important to us and have been shared with appropriate managers. We look forward to your return while visiting your son in Syracuse.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I loved Hotel Skyler!

The whole hotel has been done with the environment in mind, but without a loss of comfort or style. The main lobby is bright, beautiful, and has a great bar that serves above-average food and cocktails. They even let us sit by a nice fire and have tea and dessert while it snowed outside!

The bedrooms are stylish and very spacious. Mine had a distinct "desk" area that was separate from the rest of the room. I loved the bathroom decor and organic bath products. The bed was extremely comfortable. Free internet was fast and easy to connect to. I didn't experience any of the "thin wall" problems discussed in other posts.

One more thing I loved: The television was one of the only ones I've had in a hotel where the aspect ratio hadn't been stretched to fit a flatscreen. It was a proper widescreen picture on the flatscreen, and I really appreciated this detail. It drives me nuts to watch tv on most hotel flatscreens with a distorted picture!

Thanks Hotel Skyler - great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear hotelgirl111,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are thrilled with your comments about the hotel. We will see you again next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews