We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al's Wine & Whiskey Lounge

Al's Wine & Whiskey Lounge
Ranked #45 of 681 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have been in the liquor service industry for the better part of 2 decades and this is possibly the most well rounded bar I have ever been to. It had everything, common items, rare items, it's for a true booze enthusiast. I only wish I had more time to spend there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LordNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly and knowledgable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

There are many bars in the area. You can get a beer and a Jack and Coke, but these people know what they are doing. We went during the low time because we are not fans of crowds. The Bartender asked what our tastes were and came up with drinks that were spot on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing drinks and knowledgeable tenders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I had never been to Al's, mostly because of misconception. I didn't think a "Whiskey" place was my scene. I'm a martini girl... little did I know this is exactly the kind of place I want to go. My sister goes there all the time with her husband and their friends and said I should give it a chance (I was with her on this outing). We sat outside once we got a table, but I wouldn't have minded staying inside if it wasn't nice out. THe bartenders were very professional and knowledgeable. We decided to take a risk and let him create a drink for us because we saw hibiscus liquor on the shelf and found that intriguing. he whipped up something fabulous. He knew what flavor profiles would compliment it even though he said he hadn't made a drink with it before. The girl next to us ordered the same thing because she saw ours and how much we were enjoying them. THe fact that the tender could just create that on the fly with such an odd liquor makes me wonder what other amazing drinks I could have. I will def be back next time I'm in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Awesome bar with old school style of service. Looks like something out of the 20's with a bit of a hipster charm. Amazing selection of whiskey that is unmatched. Great bands on wedesdays. Usually a decent crowd and good location downtown. Can't go wrong!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDK911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent adult spot in Armory Square!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great bar focused on the enjoyment of a good drink. Does not cater to children - 21 and over. Superb hospitality provided by the general manager Jamie. Truly is a wine and whiskey lounge (beer, too!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maprap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's Wine & Whiskey Lounge also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Al's Wine & Whiskey Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing