We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word, "Horrible"!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Harpoon Eddie's

Harpoon Eddie's
Ranked #10 of 18 Restaurants in Sylvan Beach
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Syracuse
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One word, "Horrible"!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very over priced, terrible food. Don't waste your time or your cash. Drinks were ridiculous. The view was nice. VERY DISSAPOINTED!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SyracuseDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
248 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the sunset and have a drink. Food is nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I met my sister in law here on a Wednesday evening for dinner as I was working in Sylvan Beach for the day and she lives within a short drive. I hadn't been to Sylvan Beach in years. She has been to this place before for drinks, so we thought we'd give it a try. We sat outside and it was a very nice view of the lake and as the sun started to set, it was fantastic. The servers were all very friendly young girls and they were efficient despite the fact that they were extremely busy. The menu was so-so, pretty standard fare and some of the dishes seemed a bit too heavy to be eating outside on a hot summers day. We got a spicy shrimp appetizer to share, and they were just frozen breaded shrimp tossed in wing sauce. I got a grilled chicken salad that was loaded with lettuce and other veg, but a bit skimpy on the chicken. The chicken was tasty though. I had a nice wine spritzer to drink, but it was served in a clear, disposable plastic cup. I know beach bars like to do that, but I hate drinking out of a disposable cup. Not only is it not very "green" but drinking from a plastic cup is a bit too downmarket for me. If glass breakage is an issue, they make some pretty nice reusable plastic "glassware" these days.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtreby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
240 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Always a favorite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Sylvan Beach is a hidden gem between Syracuse & Utica. Harpoon's is a restaurant right on the beach with good food, drinks, entertainment, and a great cabana bar outside. There is plenty of seating outside to listen to the entertainment, have a bite to eat or a full dinner, and enjoy Oneida Lake. The wings are meaty and cooked just the way you like them. There is a variety of salads, the fish is fresh and very tastey. The rum runners are the best I have ever had, but watch out. They only allow you two! A great place to visit in the summer, especially to watch a beautiful sunset.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natnpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Square, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Gordon Ramsey needs to help this place!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

A beautiful location, nice interior, great view! If only they put some time into the food! This crap is worse than self serve at a gas station!! Canned Guacamole, canned cheese(the cheap stuff), cheap salsa, cheap shrimp that were cooked in old grease. Not a single thing is freshly made. Everything is canned, frozen, or from a package. These people are missing the boat. They have an opportunity to make this a destination, instead they make it a reason to go else where.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls,NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“I guess it's all about what you're looking for...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We eat here just about every time we go to Sylvan Beach.

The main attraction of the place is it's location, which is directly on the sand and facing West. Tough to beat the summer sunsets over 27 miles of water; it drops from the sky and dapples the lake with brilliant color, on a clear day... Pretty spectacular, as a general rule.

The food..? Well, we always order the same dishes there. We've never been disappointed by the wings, the grilled-chicken salads, or the haddock, either fried or broiled. (And be sure to sit on the North deck, unless you're there to drink among 20-somethings and to listen to ancient 80's rock a few feet to the South.)

SB is maybe a 90-day operation at best, so one is wise to stick with what works for that brief window of opportunity. It beats staying home on a bad day, and the lake is great fun to swim in when the wind blows hard from the West. As far as the beach-experience goes, I would recommend Harpoon Eddie's every time, just for the sake staying on the water until darkness falls. They have always gotten simple orders right for us, and the views there are hard to beat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fishman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpoon Eddie's also viewed

 

Been to Harpoon Eddie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing