We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Suffern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    57
    59
    55
    52
See reviews for
105
51
32
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff was not friendly at all. They barely spoke English and couldn't understand it either. The breakfast attendant was miserable. The breakfast area was not cleaned appropriately. The hotel was dirty and smelled. I had to stay for 2 weeks due to business. I don't think my room was vacuumed once! Gross place! I moved out as soon as another hotel became available. I would not recommend staying there unless you have to.

Room Tip: There aren't any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vikki4085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Night clerk was more than friendly and accommodating. Rooms average, but adequate. Could use some updating. Minor glitches - but no big deal considering low price and super close location to hike Harriman/Bear Mtn. Excellent wifi; good tv reception & channels. More than enough outlets for electronic plug-ins (unlike some higher-priced chains). Heat excellent & quiet. Micro & super-quiet mini fridge. Over all, quiet when we were there for Thanksgiving holiday 4-day weekend. IMO nowhere at all as awful as other reviewers claim. And "No"...I'm not affiliated w/HJ or this hotel in particular! Just a hiker in need of a good night's sleep and shower and very helpful concierge who obligingly printed out some trail maps for us. Will definitely make this our "go-to-hotel" for future Harriman hiking weekends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The staff is horrible and the place smells like an ash tray. Even in a non-smoking room you can smell smoke. The woman in charge of the breakfast area looks as fun as a tax audit~and nice try management. It's evident you are reviewing this site and are inflating these reviews with comments that your smelly hotel is outstanding. You should have paid me to stay there. In fact, I'd pay for one night of someone's stay that leaves that dump if they gave it a legitimate outstanding. Lastly, the staff needs an English class. Could never understand them. Good luck if you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suffern6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Suffern hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Worst hotel ever! It's a dump! The staff is so unfriendly it's ridiculous and the place is dirty. I will never go back. And it's a truck stop at night. Trucks run all night long. If you like filth, jerks for the staff and noise, go for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had to stay here, as nothing else was available. Rooms are dirty, dusty and smell. I cannot believe how unfriendly the staff is in the breakfast area and front desk....there are much better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim98115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOORHEESVILLE
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a rundown, smelly place with uncomfortably hard beds. Friends that were part of our trip stayed at a Courtyard by Marriott a few miles away and paid $15 more. That place was clean, new and had a great breakfast. (our breakfast bar was not good in any way). The extra $15 would be money well spent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Chuck654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffern
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Suffern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Suffern

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Suffern
Address: 17 North Airmont Road, Suffern, NY 10901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Suffern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Suffern 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Suffern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern Hotel Suffern
Howard Johnson Suffern
Suffern Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Suffern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing