We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crown Plaza Suffern NY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza, Suffern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crown Plaza Suffern NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is very impressive. The hotel was done over .The rooms are fresh and clean. The beds are amazing to sleep in. I didn't want to leave. The staff goes above and beyond to assist you. The service and food in dinning area was excellent. Room are reasonably priced. If you need a place to stay while traveling this is a must.

Room Tip: I didn't use the spa or swimming pool. Rooms are very clean and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen Wade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Ellen,
Thank you for the excellent review. We try to have all our guests relax and enjoy the beutiful hotel and surroundings. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    142
    37
    12
    15
See reviews for
88
90
19
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel has grat staff very clean and new appearance. I stayed hear two years in a row. Very satisfied with my stay. I highly recommend this one.Its great when the staff make you feel so welcome!! .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Kevwalsh,
Thank you for the outstanding review. We enjoy all of our guests and welcome them to the hotel. I hope you return again soon.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Hotel is located right off the New York State Thruway (I-287) at exit 14B. This was a Holiday Inn property that has been totally redone. The staff is attentive and the place is very nice, though this is not a Hyatt or 4 Seasons property. Having said that, if you are travelling and need a very nice place to stay at very competitive rates you won't go wrong staying at this location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack2act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Jack2act,
I appreciate your comments. The hotel has gone through a major renovation 2 years ago and is an outstanding hotel. Our staff pride themselves to be a part of a beutiful property and it is noticed. We hope you return to visit us soon.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza February 15-18 and I was very impressed with it. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. I visited the lobby bar, used the fitness center, and ate breakfast two mornings at the lobby restaurant. I do have to say, the bed was amazing! It was like sleeping on a cloud. The hotel was close to everything I needed to get to for my business trip. There were other people there but it was never too loud or obnoxious. Overall, I had a great experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to this area. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Jenny S,
Thank you very much for the great review. We do have the best staff that enjoys our guests and it shows. We look forward to your return visits.
Thank you again.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
346 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed recently at this hotel. I really liked the lobby area -- it looks like a ski chalet. And the rooms were super clean and modern. No complaints at all about the rooms (and I loved the bed too -- rivaled Westin's Heavenly Bed). Had the Chicken Parmasan -- really good. So that part of the stay was a very pleasant suprise -- the facility is four stars.

Unforunately, I had to get up early at 530am for a corporate event. I went downstairs at 530am -- no coffee, unlike a luxury hotel. It would be nice to have a coffee urn out. The restaurant doesn't open until 630am, which is really 30 minutes too late for business travelers. I must say the security guard was a prince and got me a coffee at about 615 from the kitchen. That was above and beyond.

My two other complaints were: 1) no soy milk. One quarter of America cannot drink milk. Staff had no idea. I said I was allergic to milk, and the morning person offered me skim milk. It just doesn't take much these days to stock some soy.

2) I had a package arrive the night before -- but the front desk didn't tell me until I was leaving.

This is a limited service hotel. There is no gift shop/sundries shop. So if you adjust away that expectation, the remodel is quite good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the review. I will pass your comments to the security guard. He will appreciate them. I apologize for the soy milk. It will be addressed with the culinary department. I do hope you come back. Please contact me if you do return.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza Suffern for a wedding in Central Valley NY. This was the best option in the area that had a newer modern rooms within reasonable distance to the venue and church.

It looks like an older hotel from the outside but the inside is beautifully renovated. Since I was in the bridal party I was able to see the suite and the regular room. The suite had a nice sitting area with kitchenette/breakfast bar and large bathroom. The regular king room we stayed in was modern clean and the bed was comfortable. I was quite happy with the room. As far as service we were barely there so I cannot comment much on the service, however the front desk and check in was quick and courteous.

They had a bar, restaurant and room service which was convenient.

The reason I give this hotel 3 stars and not more is because of noisy its Atrium design. In this case the wedding party I was with were the ones causing the noise but once I went to the room I could hear voices and carrying from below. This may not be as much of an issue if there are no large groups staying at the hotel. Overall I still had a good experience.

Important note: Noise from bar and restaurant could possibly be and issue. The open air Atrium design of the inside of the hotel causes noise to travel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christieloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Christie,
Thank you for the comments. I apologize for the noise in the atrium. When we know we have these types of groups in the lounge late at night, we arrange for them to use one of our board rooms so they can enjoy themselves without interrupting other guests. Please come back and visit us soon.
Bob Wilson
Gneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stood at this hotel during hurricane Sandy as we were storm responders. Room was very clean with nice decor and hotel staff were very pleasant. Good food and comfortable stay. Stood at this hotel when in was owned by Holiday Inn. They have done a fantastic job since taking over the hotel. I certainly would recommend a stay at the Crown Plaza. Clean and comfortable. What else do you need ?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorker184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear NewYorker184,
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy that we met your expectations. We look forward to your return visit.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffern
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza, Suffern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza, Suffern

Property: Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Address: 3 Executive Blvd, Suffern, NY 10901-4113 (Formerly Holiday Inn Suffern)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Suffern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza, Suffern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffern Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center also known as the GEM of Rockland County is situated in a distinctive setting. It features 230 artfully renovated guest rooms and suites, Flagstone's Restaurant The Koi Lounge, a fully equipped 24 hour fitness center, and business center. It features the newest ballrooms in the county making it the perfect location for corporate conventions and meetings, weddings, bar/bat mitzvahs, and social events. Whatever the reason for your visit to our hotel, you can enjoy the tranquility of our countryside surroundings with easy access to the excitement of New York City. Not to be forgotten would be a shopping spree at the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets, with over 200 stores to choose from! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza, Suffern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza, Suffern Hotel Suffern
Holiday Inn Suffern
Suffern Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing