We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay here was one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My stay here was one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I expect more out of Crowne Plaza. The facility is obviously a cheap motel that they bought and tried to update. Totally lacking in amenities and the staff are atricious. The hotel staff has serious communication issues. They attempted to charge us additional fees for services we did not use and gave us a hard time about having a dog. We declared the dog at check in and were given a free "upgrade" in room. Turns out our upgraded "suite" was a small room, with only a small stand up shower in the bathroom. Later, we were informed that we were not in a pet friendly room and they attempted to charge us additional fees. The front desk also tried to charge us for additional fees for "incidentals". Our trip was ruined by this hotel experience and we will not be staying at a Crowne Plaza facility again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Elizabehxv,
I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We do try to keep our pet friendly rooms on the first floor for ease to our guests. I hope you will try us again in the future. Please call me directly when you are back in the area so we may improve on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    146
    37
    12
    17
See reviews for
90
92
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everything about the stay at the Crowne Plaza was perfect from the moment we arrived until the time we left. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The facility is immaculately clean. Our room had a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows, so we didn't have to call and beg for more. The only thing about the room that we found silly and impractical was some sort of elongated setee. Other than occupy a lot of space in the room, it didn't appear to serve a practical purpose. It was neither comfortable for sitting and reading nor sleeping. But, so what, the rest of the room was comfortable and clean!!! As we were with a convention of sorts, our meals were provided by the hotel. The food was very good and plentiful with a nice assorted selection of foods to accomodate all tastes. This hotel does not have a pool. I accidentally clicked the radio button to rate the pool. We look forward to returning and highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HG425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for the great comments! We have worked very hard to make sure every guest experiences a outstanding stay. Please let me know when you are back to vist us. I enjoy the opportunity to meet our guests. I look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroe
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is the 4th time I have spent a weekend at the Crowne Plaza in Suffern. I belong to a
scrapbooking group. Everytime I have spent a weekend there it has been nothing but wonderful.
The rooms are spotless and the staff is so helpful.
The chef is terrific and there is such a great variety of food to select from.
We truly enjoy our stay there and wouldn't think of changing hotels.
They go above and beyond (especially the ice sculpture of Mickey Mouse for our Dinsey Themed
weekend along with the Mickey Cake,)
Anne

Room Tip: All of them are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Susan,
Thank you for your continued support. The Chef enjoyed making the ice carving for you. The pictures came out great. We are so happy you all enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you here as our guests. We can't wait to see you all again. I love your laughs!! It's catching.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we were 2 couples and we had a great stay. Rooms were great. Service was great. The hotel had a great lobby area with bar etc. It sorta felt like a modern Lodge. I liked the idea of 12pm checkout. One thing is breakfast at the hotel restaurant should be extented. 11 am was cutting it short. Bill the bartender was great. He recommended some restaurants and we tried the Greek place. Was great. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollygirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Molly,
Thank you for the kind words. We strive to make all our guests stay an enjoyable one. Bill continues to be one of our best assets. We have so many employees with his great demeanor, I hope you had the opportunity to meet them. We look forward to your future stay with us. Please drop by and say Hi during your next stay.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for one night recently and was very impressed. The front desk help was the best that I have ever experienced. The entire facility is spotless and updated. There is a nice bar in the large general area. Each room has a very large high def tv. They allowed me to check in early to accommodate my traveling needs. As a Priority Club member, I believe this place is well worth the money. Will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forfunandrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank You! Thank you! We have worked hard on establishing a place so our guests would enjoy their stay. I am please that you had such a wonderful time. I will review your excellent comments with the staff. They all enjoy hearing the feedback from our guests. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy our new Priority Club area for all our members. It was just completed last week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We stay in the area when we go to West Point for Army football. The last time I stayed at this Crowne Plaza was in 2010 when the renovations were in progress. What a beautiful result, the center courtyard is huge with the restaurant and bar open and airy. The courtyard has lots of areas to sit or merry with large groups. There is also a nice waterfall centerpiece in the courtyard.
The rooms have been upgraded to the modern Crowne Plaza, business traveller friendly, motif. The rooms are well lit and there are lots of easily accessed inputs for are a business traveler's electronic needs. The bathroom is well lit and open with a shower that was both stylish and inviting. Good location when visiting West Point, it is about a 30 minute ride.
My only negative comment is that the only option for breakfast on Saturday is a full buffet. I would have liked to have eggs cooked to order, while my wife and kids only wanted something small so the buffet option did not work for us. We ended up going to a local diner. Overall the hotel was great and we will be staying here again during the football season.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust-itis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Welcome to our West Point Army Fans! Please let us know when you are attending the games and we started a program of special "Thank you" gifts for those attending the games. If you are on the website goarmysports.com, you can book directly for the games and purchase your tickets for the games too. I apologize that the wait for breakfast was so long. We will address it in order to come up with a solution. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here with another couple and our baby for one night on our way from Quebec to New York City. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was very modern. The only complaint I have was that the crib that was provided to us was not great. Also, we waited in line for breakfast for 10 mins and no one ever came to seat us so we left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juls&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for the great review. I will have housekeeping research a better alternative for the cribs. I apologize for the wait for breakfast. We are addressing the issue with a better solution. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffern
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#3 of 8 in Mahwah
211 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza, Suffern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza, Suffern

Property: Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Address: 3 Executive Blvd, Suffern, NY 10901-4113 (Formerly Holiday Inn Suffern)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Suffern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza, Suffern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffern Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center also known as the GEM of Rockland County is situated in a distinctive setting. It features 230 artfully renovated guest rooms and suites, Flagstone's Restaurant The Koi Lounge, a fully equipped 24 hour fitness center, and business center. It features the newest ballrooms in the county making it the perfect location for corporate conventions and meetings, weddings, bar/bat mitzvahs, and social events. Whatever the reason for your visit to our hotel, you can enjoy the tranquility of our countryside surroundings with easy access to the excitement of New York City. Not to be forgotten would be a shopping spree at the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets, with over 200 stores to choose from! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza, Suffern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza, Suffern Hotel Suffern
Holiday Inn Suffern
Suffern Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing