We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to see a movie”

Galaxy Lafayette Theatre
Blauvelt, NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a great place to see a movie”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I wish I lived closer or that they showed movies more often, but this spectacular theater is as much of an experience as the movie. I was just here for a conference and really got to study the inside of the theater to see the loving restoration. The organs, which are played for nostalgic effect on Saturday nights, are just stunning. We have seen classic movies here, that we would never have gotten the chance to see on the big screen, as well as current releases . It is a few dollars cheaper than going to the mall and its boring theaters. The seats are comfortable and the whole experience is just enjoyable. Catch a new movie or old, you will be glad that you tried this historic theater.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geologymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Grand Old Theater”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Everyone in the area should visit this beautiful theater, not just to see a movie on a large screen, but to help support its upkeep. Theaters like this will never be built again, so let's do what we can to keep them active.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KSE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our antique theatre in Rockland County NY”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A throw back to another era to how old theatre house used to look like. There used to be an organ that would accompany the movie there as well.
First run films in a quaint part of Suffern NY.

Helpful?
Thank askarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Retro Theater”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Love this theater. It was completely renovated a few years back and now looks like the day it was built back in the 1920's. This place even has a balcony! The best part on Saturday nights is that there is a large Wurlitzer pipe organ that is played 30 minutes before show time. This is something that you need to see. Gives you a real feel for what movie theaters were like in the old days. was like

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank first-tymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffern
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great theatre only few left in the country”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I own Marcello 'Restaurant in Suffern and I produce a Valentine live concert at Lafayette Theatre and I can say that the theatre is fantastic I am proud of the theatre old feeling hope to produce more live concert in the future.

Helpful?
Thank marcelloSuffern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galaxy Lafayette Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Galaxy Lafayette Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing