We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and cool place!”
Review of Shamrock Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shamrock Hotel
Ranked #31 of 58 Restaurants in Suffern
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very nice and cool place!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stop there for dinner after a long day of work in Woodberry on suggestion from my boss.

Very nice and cool Irish ambiance pub-restaurant style. I ordered the special of the day (Surf n' Turf) with a baked potato, and it was delicious. My boss also really enjoyed his plate.

We had a great time chit-chatting, eating and watching the TV screen.

Only con, they take cash only... You can't afford that in 2014!

Other than tha, a nice hidden gem you will love if you like the Irish smooth ambiance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 999Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irish eyes are smiling”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

To start, the shamrock has something for everyone on menu.
Had a good burger and a beer while watching any sport you like.
Friday nights find a prime rib special. Good food and good fun.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WonderFul Food”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Make it a point to stop in at The Shamrock Hotel. The people are very friendly, atmosphere is nice and welcoming, they make you feel like home.
Well the most important thing is the food. The fish is so fresh and many varieties, meat, sandwiches everything is so GOOD. The prices are so reasonable, do not miss this gem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clt0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

poor variety bar type of food. would not go to again. We were not impressed at all. It's mostly a local bar hangout .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jingles25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey N.j
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Shamrock is s great deal and good food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been to the Shamrock many times. I have to say we love the homemade soup as much as the very reasonable pricing at the Shamrock. It is cash only due to the special pricing. They make a great drink at a fair price too. We like the steak and well as the grilled chicked. Most meals come with potato and fresh veg. of the day. A nice place to come and eat at the bar and catch the game on one of the many T.V's. Tight paking lot but plenty of parking in the train lot across the street. This is a local Irish Pub that is very cozy and woth the trip.
Enjoy,
Crimms

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamrock Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Shamrock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing