We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stony Creek Ranch Resort
Reviewed August 4, 2011

As a recent (July) visitor to 1000 Acres, I wanted to share my experience, which was very positive. I read some the reviews, both up and down, but I felt it is certainly a place I intend to return to.

The most striking feature is the horseback riding available. I have stayed at other ranch resorts in New York (Rocking Horse Ranch and Riding-Hy, to name two)… and neither compares where horses and trails are concerned. The trails at 1000 Acres are in the winding foothills of the Adirondack mountains….offering much more than a field with a few trees along a dirt road. I am an experienced rider and found the horses and tack are well kept. An accompanying friend with little experience with horses enjoyed the experience, with the help of the cowboys on duty. You can just enjoy the scenery on the slow ride, a good way to learn how to control a horse or just to get accustomed to sitting in a saddle again. In this area, 1000 Acres excels.

The second outstanding feature is the location on the banks of the Hudson River; the view of the river is fantastic. We enjoyed walking to the water’s edge to skip rocks, and later tried canoeing (kayaking and row boats were an option). We stayed in the Buena Vista building, on top of the hillside near the horses; the view out across the Hudson was simply beautiful.

A new feature I enjoyed on this trip is the new scenic passenger train – the Saratoga and North Creek Railroad – which stops right on the grounds of 1000 Acres. We could keep our car parked, and hop a train into Saratoga Springs for off-site sightseeing (and the racetrack), or go to North Creek, with rustic mountain charm.

The food, served family style, was plentiful – breakfasts were especially good. During the week, we ate heartily and well. The choices available on the buffet were many.

Every trip by each individual is a separate experience. I felt that our experience - the purpose for our vacationing in the Adirondacks was to enjoy the great outdoors – as mentioned, horseback riding, canoeing, sightseeing. 1000 Acres delivered to our needs and expectations.

Room Tip: various accommodations, i.e. motel style, duplex cabin, single cabin, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Stony Creek Ranch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

My family has been coming here for about 10 years and the quality has gone steadily down. Cabins that were rustic years ago get little maintenance and are now dumpy; there was a mouse in our room eating our snacks this year. The food was always a big draw, but this year the chef had quit and the food was bland and poorly prepared (chicken parm with no breading, cut-up marshmallows for make-your-own sundaes); there was no meal all week that we really enjoyed. The dining room staff is wonderful, but several of the office workers are inept. The riding was the #1 reason we kept coming back but this year there were not enough wranglers and a problem with my equipment resulted in personal injury. The horses are still great and our daughter is in love with the place, so we may go next year for just a few days instead of a week.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Houndsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash W, Public Relations Manager at Stony Creek Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Good Morning,
I am so sorry that you had a bad experience back in 2011. 1000 acres ranch is no more as it is under new ownership and is now called Stony Creek Ranch Resort. Our new owners have been actively renovating and improving our grounds. Most of our rooms have been completely updated and stripped of the old carpeting. As far as our activities go we pride ourselves in having our staff actually participate with you. There will never be an instance where you are left to your own devices under our new ownership. We have redone our indoor pool and also feature to outdoor pools. Our windows are also spotless. We also have an arcade and cinema! In regards to horseback riding, our guests are always first! The new owners are primarily focused on their guests and we offer very few rides to the public. Our saloon has been completely redone and boasts a beautiful wood interior and plenty of lighting! We are also doing a weekly rodeo on Thursdays with live entertainment on Thursdays through Saturdays. Our WiFi has been redone and is available throughout the property as well as all new TVs with functioning cable. Both our maintenance and housekeeping departments have put in a tremendous amount of effort over the last year and have made and continue to make the property prim and proper. There is no longer a mice problem. We have a solid team who respect our guests and aim to make every moment here at the ranch the best one! We have hired plenty of wranglers to meet our season demands as well as increase our horse count. As this message is being typed out there is more and more work being done to our property in order to beautify it for our current and future guests. I know that you had a less than favorable experience with 1000 acres but we really do hope that you will give Stony Creek Ranch Resort a try! We hope you have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

we recently took a weekend trip to 1000 Acres ranch in upstate New York, and has the greatest time! When we first arrived we were greeted with 'welcome to the ranch" by a wowan who made us feel so welcome from the start. She was then joined by another woman who was introduced as "bubbles" and it was obvious why. She was so charming, and refreshing. What a great team they made. You should have them for entertainment. We were showed around,a nd then to our room. The view was magnificent, and the room was clean, and cozy with a great front porch. We really enjoyed the food. Your chef is top notch. I believe his name was Fillipee. We could hardly wait for our next meal. At night we visisted the saloon. The band was great as was the dancing. I even took the dance lesson offered on Saturday night. I haven't done that in years. Our next day wa spent horseback riding. I was a bit concered as the cowboys appeared a bit old, but the horses weren't, and we had a great time. The trails were beautiful--and what a view. Since we have returned home, I have done nothing but talk about what a fantastic time we had. The accomedations, staff, food, entertainment, all top notch, and all for one great price. We are already planning our next trip, but this time intend to bring our friends. I would reccomend 1000 Acres Ranch to anyone who wants a good time at a great price. This place is a winner!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddimeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our family has been going to the ranch for 9 years. I’d like to address cws5600’s concerns.
I totally understand the need and concern to protect kids from unhealthy relationships with adults. With my 2 boys, I have been, and continue to be, hyper-vigilant about adults who seen too interested in them. In the years we have been going to the ranch, I’ve never had even the faintest twitch of concern about Cowboy Ernie. His job is to entertain both kids and adults, but the kids are his main audience. Like any good performer, he pays close to attention to them and “plays” to them, but I never got an uneasy feeling watching Cowboy Ernie around kids.
Staff at the Ranch
The employees are not the polished staff of a five star hotel. Most are locals. They are genuine people. With the longer tenured employees, we swap updates and stories about family and interests. There were a lot of new faces in the office this year, but new or old, my experience is they will fall over themselves to meet guest’s requests. This includes the wranglers at the stables. The stable wranglers have the further concern about guest safety. The horses are gentle and trained, but they are still horses. If they get frightened on the trail, which can happen (last summer we saw a black bear, and the horses were spooked by this), the rider has to have some control over the animal. The miles and miles of trails are natural settings, with rocks, roots, uphill, downhill. The horses can lose their footing on a rock or branch. Again, the riders have to have to be able to recover in this event. If the head wrangler does not allow a guest on the medium or fast rides, or if he tries to give riding advice, it’s for the safety of the guests and horses.
Rooms
The beds are clean and comfortable, and the A/C, fridge and bathrooms work. Otherwise, it’s the surroundings that we come for. Enjoy your morning coffee or an evening glass of wine or beer on the porch. The scenery is stunning.
The bottom line is our family absolutely loves our vacations at the ranch. Our boys are had a great time there last week. After 9 years, I keep expecting to grow tired of the ranch, but we can’t wait to go back again next year. Yes, we’ve already booked, and the boys are actually keeping a count of many days till our return there.
Other Activities
The ranch and the surrounding area offer a number of things to do. My husband rode a horse this year for the first time. He loves the golf course (a mile away). We always go kayaking on the Hudson. Our kids love playing ping pong and bocci. It is also a safe place where they have the freedom to hop on their bikes and go, things they can’t do in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymom718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had several problems with staff. Ernie the guitar player seemed to stare at the young female children a little too long, enough to make my sister keep her daughter away from him. The short heavy set man who runs the horses has a Napoleon complex and likes to talk down to every one. Instead of explaining how to ride he likes to berate people in front of the crowd. It was down to several people in different groups. The front desk also seemed like any request was a bother. The area is beautiful and the grounds are nice. Good luck with the staff. Our group of over 40 will never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cws5600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash W, Public Relations Manager at Stony Creek Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Good Morning,
I am so sorry that you had a bad experience back in 2010. 1000 acres ranch is no more as it is under new ownership and is now called Stony Creek Ranch Resort. Our new owners have been actively renovating and improving our grounds. Most of our rooms have been completely updated and stripped of the old carpeting. . As far as our activities go we pride ourselves in having our staff actually participate with you. There will never be an instance where you are left to your own devices under our new ownership. We have redone our indoor pool and also feature to outdoor pools. Our windows are also spotless. We also have an arcade and cinema! In regards to horseback riding, our guests are always first! The new owners are primarily focused on their guests and we offer very few rides to the public. Our saloon has been completely redone and boasts a beautiful wood interior and plenty of lighting! We are also doing a weekly rodeo on Thursdays with live entertainment on Thursdays through Saturdays. Our WiFi has been redone and is available throughout the property as well as all new TVs with functioning cable. Both our maintenance and housekeeping departments have put in a tremendous amount of effort over the last year and have made and continue to make the property prim and proper. Ernie nor the "Napoleonic" wrangler work here. We have a solid team who respect our guests and aim to make every moment here at the ranch the best one! As this message is being typed out there is more and more work being done to our property in order to beautify it for our current and future guests. I know that you had a less than favorable experience with 1000 acres but we really do hope that you will give Stony Creek Ranch Resort a try! We hope you have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I love TripAdvisor - I consult it for every trip we take, and this is the only place that TripAdvisor has steered us horribly, horribly wrong. We actually took our trip 2 years ago (August 2008) when there was only a dozen reviews about 1000 Acres, each one glowing about the "rustic" setting, the "bountiful" food, the fun "activities", the "hopping" nightlife, etc. Our first night there I was so disgusted that I was sobbing, I really felt like I let my family down by choosing this place. My husband encouraged me to give it a chance (although he was also not pleased with the accomodations) because all the other reviewers raved about how much fun this place was, so we stayed and TRIED to have fun.

For $600 a night (!!!) for our family of five, we did get rustic, but RUSTIC = sunk-in beds, carpeting that has never been replaced, dirty shower with water coming from a pipe (no little bottles of shampoo here!), dark paneling, one lightbulb, paper thin walls, a back door that opens to mud leading to mosquito infested river, empty beer bottles outside our door, a broken plastic chair to sit on, etc.

BOUNTIFUL FOOD = a fly covered BBQ night, overcooked chicken fingers, nothing better than Hometown Buffet... breakfast was the best bet, everything else was disgusting

ACTIVITIES = horseback riding was great for the ONE HOUR a day that you get to do that - everything else was mediocre to terrible - the "rodeo" was horrifying!! - my kids will never forget seeing those poor baby cows getting strung by the neck and thrown in the air for our amusement; the pools were DIRTY, especially the indoor pool, and everything else could be found in better condition at a town park.

NIGHTLIFE = hick country western bar - we are not country music fans so we were way out of our comfort zone in the bar where drunks from all over congregate and mingle with your kids - very creepy - there is absolutely nothing else to do at night, and there is no TV in your room so you are stuck with the bar

THE CLIENTELE = I am not a snob - we have 3 boys that keep us very down to earth - we don't come from money, and we have friends from all walks of life - but at least for the short time we visited, there was just something wrong with the people that come here! They come in LARGE groups and forget that there are others there that may not be comfortable with their behavior - such as smoking / swearing / drinking / yelling around your kids. During BREAKFAST, one man put on DIRTY underwear (hopefully dirtied by dirt) over his pants and walked around the room for like 30 minutes while his group of buddies nearly died laughing. Maybe we would have thought it was funny if he had been our friend or if we understood what the inside joke was, but frankly it just seemed disgusting and totally lacking in class to do while people were trying to eat! Again, I just couldn't believe we paid $600 a night to be there! You just kind of expect people to have some sense of dignity... We were clearly left wondering if everyone else got some huge group discount.

The only good things I can report about this place are: (1) the horseback riding was nice (but you could stay somewhere actually decent and just pay for the horseback riding here) and (2) the location is fairly close to Lake George which provided the despearately needed escape from the "ranch"

For those people who truly love the ranch and come year after year, I do feel bad about criticizing their cherished vacation spot. But this place is a SKEEVY DUMP and I personally felt duped by the positive reviews and ripped off by their ridiculous prices.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vacationmomof3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash W, Public Relations Manager at Stony Creek Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Good Morning,
I am so sorry that you had a bad experience back in 2008. 1000 acres ranch is no more as it is under new ownership and is now called Stony Creek Ranch Resort. Our new owners have been actively renovating and improving our grounds. Most of our rooms have been completely updated and stripped of the old carpeting. All of the rooms have been cleaned and do not have any mildew smells. As far as our activities go we pride ourselves in having our staff actually participate with you. There will never be an instance where you are left to your own devices under our new ownership. In fact we opened up a whole new department that focuses just on activities! We have been extremely choosy on our clientele and can guarantee that you will never experience such rowdy behavior here. In fact we close our bar to the public on certain times and if open we have an excellent security time that will remove any riff raff. We have redone our indoor pool and also feature two outdoor pools. We also have an arcade and cinema. Our saloon has been completely redone and boasts a beautiful wood interior and plenty of lighting! We are also doing live entertainment on Thursdays through Saturdays. Our WiFi has been redone and is available throughout the property as well as all new TVs with functioning cable. Both our maintenance and housekeeping departments have put in a tremendous amount of effort over the last year and have made and continue to make the property prim and proper. As this message is being typed out there is more and more work being done to our property in order to beautify it for our current and future guests. I know that you had a less than favorable experience with 1000 acres but we really do hope that you will give Stony Creek Ranch Resort a try! We hope you have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I've been going to 1000 Acres for the last three years and I an tell you that everyone time I leave that place I can't wait to go back next year. I am going to break my review into three parts the service / food, the activities and the ranch / rooms itself.

First, the food/ service is amazing... while the food is not gormet the food is exceptional and is homesytle cooking that is better than what most of us grow up with. The meals our amazing and some of the meals include ribs, hotdogs (for the kids), steaks, chicken, italian food, turkey, fish and my favorite their ham. While the meals are incredible so is the service. The service at 1000 acres is the service that most of wish we recieved at five star restaurants. If there is any problem the servants just come right to your need. For example my son didin't like the main dish of fish, so we had asked the waiter for somthing else for a kid, within six minutes there were chicken fingers at our table for our five year old son.

Next, I will talk about the activities at the ranch, I don't even know where to start.. well first for horse lovers their horseback riding for any age and any experiance level through some of the most beautiful trails ever. I've been to other ranches while horseback riding, such as rockin horse and the horseback riding at 1000 acres compared to some of the other places is ten times better. If youre more of a water fan you can go kayaking, whitewater rafting and river tubing at 1000 Acres. For the first time last year my family did all three and I have to say that my kids and wife enjoyed it so much that they wanted to do each one again on our last day at the ranch. If your more of a sportfan theres a golf course at the ranch which i never got the chance to use but looked nice and well maintained. The Ranch is also at a prime location to go to the town of Lake George where the kids can go to the arcade, the haunted houses and the park and the adults can go to bars, shopping centers and small gift shops. Also about 20 minutes away from the ranch their is a six flags where if you have a 13 and 16 year old kids like i did you can keep them very entertained and happy .

And now finally to the ranch / rooms while the ranch and the rooms our a bit outdated and old fashioned the rooms our fairly large and our cozy. While my family when we first arrived wasn't excited about our rooms we soon found out that we were rarely in our rooms with all the activities at the ranch.

At 1000 acres, while the rooms are a bit outdated, the activities, the great value and the ranches food / service will have my family coming back year after year for more fun, relaxation, friends and thrills.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefungoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Creek
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
8.5 mi away
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
#1 of 7 in Lake Luzerne
91 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#19 of 89 in Lake George
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#21 of 89 in Lake George
419 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
6.7 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Warrensburg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Creek Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Ranch Resort

Address: 465 Warrensburg Rd, Stony Creek, NY 12878-1613
Location: United States > New York > Stony Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Stony Creek
Price Range: $100 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stony Creek Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Groupon and Orbitz so you can book your Stony Creek Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1000 Acres Ranch Hotel Stony Creek
1000 Acres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing