We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment - 24 hour reservation for tea”

Robinson's Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Vestal New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Big disappointment - 24 hour reservation for tea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Tried because of all the reviews. At 4 pm essentially nothing available from the menu. Only scone left was a butterscotch one - heavy. If you want afternoon tea, you need to make a booking 24 hours in advance.
Decorations around the bookcase and counters are plastic flowers etc - you would never see this in a real tea room.
Redeeming feature is the large choice of teas, so come here for tea but not much else. Not the real thing. If you have tried afternoon high tea in London or at Raffles in Singapore this will be a real disappointment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stangina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have come here with my daughters on several occasions when they came to visit and we have never been disappointed. The food is always fresh, beautifully served with attention to details. The owners are gracious and make you feel at home. Make sure you come early enough to enjoy the scones for dessert. They are spectacular!! We always leave feeling like we have gone back in time. Great place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthscigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Genuine English Brew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Fine tea in a teapot! Delicious food from a very extensive menu. Super service from staff who really know what they are doing and how to look after their customers. Don't miss it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank panda65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Lovely Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently had the joy if experiencing Robinson's Tea Room. A couple of girlfriends and I are kind of on a tea house kick. Well this one is superb. It was quaint. Meaning yes, it was small, but not cramped. I'm not a teeny lady and I had plenty of room. It was decorated simply with chintz curtain with lace edges. Candle sconces on the tables. The house tea at Robinson's is my absolute favorite tea, called Yorkshire Gold. I recommend it highly, and friend of mine from England keeps me in supply so I know this is indeed the real deal. We all opted for the high tea and the owner came by to explain what we would be getting and asked if we had any food allergies. My friends are not seafood fans so in addition to the 3 tier platter we received I also had a small plate with two shrimp salads on crackers. So fresh and delicious, and from there it only got better. The clotted cream was divine, the scones were warm and delicious. The selection of finger sandwich's were a very nice mix, and the pastries were decadent. Although I did not eat too many of them. I could have just sat there and devoured the scones with the jam and clotted cream. Our waitress Tristan was sweet, and attentive. We had such a lovely time, and the owner came back to speak with us to make sure we were enjoying the tea. I will be back here again. Nice tea room, great teas and food, and friendly owner and staff. A tea trifecta!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mustangmary12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had the cinamon scones with jelly and cream....yummy. What a quaint place. Service was excellent and the place had a nice atmosphere. Would make a special trip to have the scones again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank advisingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robinson's Tea Room also viewed

Stony Brook, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 
Stony Brook, Long Island
 

Been to Robinson's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing