We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weight Watcher's Winner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ProPortion Cafe

ProPortion Cafe
Ranked #22 of 50 Restaurants in Stony Brook
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Smithtown, New York, United States
Level Contributor
283 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Weight Watcher's Winner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Pro-Portion is perfect, not only for the weight watcher, but for anyone who wants to eat healthy. They serve huge portions and everything is pointed out. The wraps and entrees are accompanied by a huge salad, and the salad itself is a meal that could feed three. They have a frozen yogurt-like product called Only 8, which means that it has only 8 calories per ounce. You can feast on a large cup of this and have a guiltless pleasure. The room is very spartan, but you can sit there and converse for hours, as my friends and I do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Huge portions, tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place for a quick take out lunch or dinner. Food is always fresh. Salad portions are enormous. Wraps are yummy. The people who work there are lovely, and the place is always clean. Great healthy alternative.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I have mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

As a Weight Watcher I love that I can find places that give you the points of your meal but the snotty girls that work there don't know the menu let alone the points for ANYTHING.The salads are expensive but huge, But the prepared food is often flavorless & you really get exactly what you ask for no flavor or seasoning added! Don't try to go in an hour before they close because they won't even serve you unless you want frozen yogurt. Because that's what you go in for on a cold January over an hour before they close. I like the cafe but the staff sucks.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eggplant parmigiana and salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

I am currently on Weight Watchers, so it was a delight to see a place that is WW friendly. The eggplant parmigiana was excellent and I had this hugh side salad with it. I had my choice of dressing and two toppings to go on it. They should have more health conscious restaurants for people who are trying to lose weight or just want to eat healthy food. I will definitely go there again, mainly because it was delicious.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Healthy and Filling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

This is especially great for weight watchers--great eggplant parm and also quiches---huge salads with lots of add-ins to choose from... Not much atmosphere but fresh and filling. Excellent frozen yogurt, too, with sundae-like toppings, if wanted. You can get the kids to enjoy it here, too, with pita pizzas on the menu.

Helpful?
2 Thank standardfinish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ProPortion Cafe also viewed

Saint James, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 
Stony Brook, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 

Been to ProPortion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing