We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Accomodations”
Review of Country House

Country House
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Stony Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Plainview, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Accomodations”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I had recently made a reservation two months in advance for a nice table for a special occasion. When I got there on time the host could not find my name on the list & then realized he had seated someone else at my table. They gave me a horrible table facing the kitchen and when we asked the manager how long the wait would be for another table he said there wouldn't be any other tables available. He was rude and arrogant and I walked out and left. Would never pay those kind of prices with a manager like that. I think he needs some lessons from the host of restaurant stake out. Don't waist your money there!!!! So many other nicer restaurants & better managed that are in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MeredithD1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    16
    8
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selden, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awful Experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Country House is down the tubes went there for my 60th birthday pre planned I was told that I could have a party menu WHICH WAS NEVER EXPLAINED TO ME we were told that actually we should have the four choices as the menu changes weekly.all my guests received menus with prices on them..meanwhile nobody got the soup nobody got salad we waited 45 minutes for a meal that came cold..and one very confused waiter for 20 people the price turned out to be double than what we will quote itthe food was horrible the service was horrible and I'm going to report them to the Better Business Bureau for bait and switch not to mention they ruined my 60th birthday party celebration after my husband work too hard to put this together and it wasn't even worth this place should be closed down and I hope that they do beware and stay away and I'm going to let everybody I know never to go there

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“new to area”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

very nice place, people were very nice and the service was the best,, love the way the dinning area is set up

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charolette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Why did I go there?”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

With the pasta dish and meat dishes smothered in a heavy sauce, which tasted like cheap bottled BBQ sauce, and the fried tasteless fish which had potatoes again with this brown sauce and canned or leftover artichokes this was a very bad dining experience. Food was very expensive and equally bad!!

The only good part of the place were the waiters who were most accommodating and polite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decor great on holidays. Service and pre prepared food ruins the mood of the beautiful old farmhouse during special occasions (i”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Worth a visit to see the lovely house and grounds but 5 star dining it is not. I suggest going during the spring months where you can enjoy the outside surroundings

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grufdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country House also viewed

Stony Brook, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing