We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old and Tired”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This title refers to the hotel, not the writer. This place needs a huge revamping: the sheets felt old and pilly, the heating/cooling system has been changed, but unusable thermostats were still on the wall. The closet in our room had no door, just nail holes and magnets where the door had once been. The wall treatment were pealing, light switch plates were crooked and the pull out bed shouldn't ever be slept on. The mattress was little more than covered springs, which were poking through in some places, sleeping on it, all I could feel were the tops of the springs supporting my body, even while laying on top of a blanket and a sheet.

There are two elevators, one of them works, sometimes.

There is a pool, but it was freezing.

On the plus side, this hotel is clean, with an ever-present army of maids, they're everywhere. In the halls, in the elevator, in the lobby... and they start knocking on doors at 8AM! Really?

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express locations, and this was one of the worst.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leapy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    92
    43
    18
    15
See reviews for
98
40
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loudonville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express a few times and have had no problems or complaints at all. The staff is very friendly when you arrive, the rooms are very clean and the breakfast is great in the morning. Our daughter recently moved near this hotel and they always give me the best rate when I call. If you need a place to stay in this location, look no further. The Holiday Inn Express is the place you will be most comfortable in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwalsh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Very helpful staff, GREAT rooms that are clean and comfortable. Great rate. Much better breakfast than the average place. Convenient mini-store in the lobby selling snacks and even beer. We drove using our car but it is only 3 miles from a Long island Railroad station. The rate was so good I would even consider using this place again if visiting Manhattan. It might be a long commute in to the city but is probably $250 cheaper than a equivalent place in NYC. We were there to visit Stony Brook Univ, not to visit NYC.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel time and time again. This is my hometown but no family members live in the area any more - so we have to sleep somewhere. And this hotel is much better than my mother's guest room ever was.

The staff is friendly. I am a Priority Club member and I feel like I get perks when I check in. One time, we were upgraded to the Jacuzzi Suite. The tub was in the room - not the bathroom and was as big as the King sized bed! So fun!

There is breakfast in a comfortable room off the lobby. Complimentary newspaper and TV's to catch up on the news. There's plenty of parking, even some nice outdoor areas to play or take pictures. But to be clear, this hotel is on the highway. I think though - that's the best part! It is so close to everything - shopping, other nearby turnpikes and roads. It takes just minutes to get anywhere from here.

All is all, simple in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The hotel is ok.its middle of the hightway or it feels so. Just average.nothing special.would probably stay again because i am not sure if there are more to select from.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t0309999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is the third HIE I've stayed in and it was just ok. The staff was really helpful but that can't really help the overly-warm pool,too many firm pillows (I know, I know..) the wonky a/c(with the hockey-puck deod) or the slightly mildewy aroma. I mean the room was the usual HIE nice size and I love triple sheeting but for $152 bucks a night? Was hoping for a little better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat2008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our weekend getaway to Mahattan/Long Island. As a platinum member of priority club, we were upgraded to a two room suite on the 6th floor. This was a first for us to have two rooms to ourselves, and it was very nice to have the extra space and a change of pace from the typical Holiday Inn Express room. Our floor had a decent size sitting area next to the elevator which would have been nice if traveling with a group. There was also plenty of seating in the downstairs lobby and breakfast area. We could have played horseshoes or sand volleyball on the courts right outside, and the front desk should have free equipment but we did not verify this. We were recommended to try John Harvard's restaurant/brewery for dinner, and we enjoyed some tasty food and good beer, I went for the beer sampler. Overall, a comfortable hotel that treated us well.

Room Tip: They have a handful of suites, so if you can snag one, take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmeekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Brook
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
4.4 mi away
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Danford's Hotel & Marina
#1 of 2 in Port Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
3.5 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook
Address: 3131 Nesconset Hwy, Stony Brook, NY 11720-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Stony Brook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook-Long Island offers 143 newly renovated guest rooms: standard kings, queens, two room suites, spa rooms, and handicap accessible rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook - Long Island hotel is a designated non-smoking property. All rooms feature: flat screen plasma cable TVs w/HBO, CNN, ESPN, free local calls, high-speed wireless Internet access, iPod docking stations and pay-per-view movies. Additional in-room amenities are: microwave/refrigerator unit, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, & a coffee maker in every room. Our hotel meeting rooms can accommodate 100 people theater style, up to 80 banquet style and we offer use of our audio/visual equipment. All guests enjoy complimentary hot Continental buffet breakfast, 20X40 indoor heated pool and use of our fully equipped fitness center. Roll away beds are available at no additional charge. Children stay free and the hotel has a playground, and there are plenty of local attractions geared toward children. Our amenities include a putting green, horseshoe courts, and athletic fields with basketball, tennis, softball and picnic area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook Hotel Stony Brook
Holiday Inn Stony Brook
Stony Brook Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing