We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learning how to eat like a Korean”
Review of Ssambap Korean BBQ

Ssambap Korean BBQ
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Stony Brook
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Learning how to eat like a Korean”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I decided to forgo a movie date night to go to this restaurant-always wanting to have Korean BBQ . And this lovely restaurant delivered. We had to wait a few minutes for a BBQ table -a table with a central grill for you to cook on. We ordered the short rib and pork entrees. These dishes come with all the fixings to create authentic Korean fare. Meat, onions, mushrooms, carrots, spiced scallion, lettuce leaves and red bean paste. Sides include spiced fumes, green beans, noodles and spiced squash. The lovely waitress was informative every step of the way and even gave us insight into future meals. The owner came by to explain the entire BBQ experience and help us develop a perfect bite -she was great!!
The food was simple, fresh, and flavorful-we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dzny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and good food!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went to Ssambap one night for dinner. They were pretty busy and had no bbq tables available but we sat at a regular table and ordered from their menu. They offer a wide variety of Korean dishes. We were not disappointed! The food was very tasty and the staff were attentive. We will definitely go back. Probably best to reserve a bbq table on busy nights.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sellyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a great restaurant. Not only is the food great, but it is a fun place to go. The decor is beautiful and the help is very attentive. It is a little hard to find, but worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfalk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long island NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Birthday”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The place is really well designed to be enjoyed for family. The staff are quite accomodating and makes you feel comfortable. They also know the menu very well...They also were careful about my daughter's peanut allergy. The food was scrumptious. Especially when Barbecuing and wrapping in lettuce. Dipping in a choice of several sauces kept my tastebuds alive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eugene712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Korean in Suffolk!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

YUM!
I've been coming to SSambap Korean BBQ since they first opened and have NEVER been disappointed! The waitstaff is friendly and knowlegable. They answer any question that you might have about the food being offered and how it is prepared. The "Create Your Own Bibimbap" is a treat! So delicious with numerous options for customization that you don't get in other places.

This has become my new go-to place for Korean food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoGoAgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ssambap Korean BBQ also viewed

Stony Brook, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 
Saint James, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 
Stony Brook, Long Island
Smithtown, Long Island
 

Been to Ssambap Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing