We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance and good food!”
Review of Ssambap Korean BBQ

Ssambap Korean BBQ
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Stony Brook
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and good food!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went to Ssambap one night for dinner. They were pretty busy and had no bbq tables available but we sat at a regular table and ordered from their menu. They offer a wide variety of Korean dishes. We were not disappointed! The food was very tasty and the staff were attentive. We will definitely go back. Probably best to reserve a bbq table on busy nights.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sellyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a great restaurant. Not only is the food great, but it is a fun place to go. The decor is beautiful and the help is very attentive. It is a little hard to find, but worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfalk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long island NY
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Birthday”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The place is really well designed to be enjoyed for family. The staff are quite accomodating and makes you feel comfortable. They also know the menu very well...They also were careful about my daughter's peanut allergy. The food was scrumptious. Especially when Barbecuing and wrapping in lettuce. Dipping in a choice of several sauces kept my tastebuds alive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eugene712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Korean in Suffolk!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

YUM!
I've been coming to SSambap Korean BBQ since they first opened and have NEVER been disappointed! The waitstaff is friendly and knowlegable. They answer any question that you might have about the food being offered and how it is prepared. The "Create Your Own Bibimbap" is a treat! So delicious with numerous options for customization that you don't get in other places.

This has become my new go-to place for Korean food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoGoAgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ssambap Korean BBQ authentic and delicious experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We decided to give this new Korean BBQ place a try. We were not disappointed with our experience. It was great fun being shown by our waiter how to make our own meal right at our table. Unlike hibachi experiences, here you are able to prepare your own food. The atmosphere is tastefully decorated. Our choice of beef and chicken were both super tasty. The beef (bulgogi) was our favorite with thinly sliced prime rib-eye marinated in soy sauce. The chicken (dak gui) was also flavorful marinated in their house sauce. The side dishes were plentiful and also fun and interesting to taste and compare. It was a busy Saturday around 6pm and by the time we left there was a wait. There are plenty of selections that do not require use of the BBQ tables so don't be intimidated by the idea of preparing your own food. We definitely intend on returning. Do ask for extra napkins. http://ssambapbbq.com/Welcome.html

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10acious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ssambap Korean BBQ also viewed

Stony Brook, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 
Stony Brook, Long Island
Saint James, Long Island
 

Been to Ssambap Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing