We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous breakfast, Nice lunch”
Review of Jake Starr Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jake Starr Cafe
Cuisines: American
Description: Near the Stony Brook train station.
Restaurant details
Description: Near the Stony Brook train station.
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast, Nice lunch”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We live nearby, and frequently go for breakfast. Great choices, we are always pleased. My husband and daughter usually have an omelette, and I choose pancakes or French toast. We are never disappointed.
We have also been here for lunch. Sandwiches and salads are good portion size and yummy.
The restaurant is small, but clean and cute. Service is good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful dining experience.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I can't ever remember dining out where every part of the meal was unsatisfactory. My wife and I began our meal with a Buffalo wing appetizer. There were 6 wing parts that were overcooked or multi-cooked and very dried out. No traditional celery served with them. For an entree, My wife ordered the Charlie (Fettuccine Alfredo). She was served was spaghetti in an Alfredo Sauce. The chef should be made aware that spaghetti is a pasta and Fettuccine is an egg noodle and makes a big difference in the taste. The Alfredo sauce was also very watery. I ordered the Kendall Haley (Eggplant Parmigiana). The tomato sauce was very bitter. Insult to injury, there was no bread served with the meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou11686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. James, NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Breakfast better than home made!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I've visited Jake Starr for lunch several times and have always been pleased but when we recently went for breakfast on Mother Day I had a difficult dilemma--what to choose on the varied, creative and very yummy sounding menu! I finally picked almond encrusted french toast with bananas and blueberries, which was even better than it sounds! My daughter had nutella, crunchy peanut butter and banana stuffed french toast which looked so good I pulled the Mother's Day card and stole a bite. Plain pancakes are not even on the menu but they did accommodate my picky 12 year old. Our previous Mothers Day breakfast spot gets so crowded that we felt rushed and the food had become sub-par, which led to this welcome change. I recommend Jake Starr for lunch but really, the breakfast is a must. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Deep South
Level Contributor
171 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Cozy Lunch Spot!”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My father took me to this little restaurant and we had a very nice lunch -- delicious focaccia bread for a variety of sandwiches, and some great wraps as well. Good macaroni salad as a side. You can also get burgers, salads, and omelets. Our very friendly server told us that the restaurant has recently been renovated and has a full bar now, so I'd like to go back for dinner next time I'm visiting my people on Long Island.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EBovary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a cozy find!”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I went here with my husband and college age daughter. We were welcomed the moment we walked in. The atmosphere is casual and cozy. Our waiter was the nicest guy...he alone would make us go back. The food was great! The menu has something for everyone. Every course was yummy. For dinner - my husband had a steak, I had the tuna and my daughter had the tilapia. We all enjoyed it very much. The bar area is very inviting as well. I am looking forward to going back for dinner or even just drinks and appetizers. Really cozy spot!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ginnamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake Starr Cafe also viewed

Stony Brook, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 
Stony Brook, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing