We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hip and yummy”

Fushimi Japanese Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fushimi Japanese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #304 of 824 Restaurants in Staten Island
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Grant City (SIR) Jefferson Av (SIR)
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“hip and yummy”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

this place is a surprise when you walk in. it's super hip and fun inside. feels a bit on the fancy side. we have been here for lunch and for dinner. they have a great lunch deal for $12 with good choices.. Dinner is slightly more expensive and the crowd is a little older and dressy.. We really enjoyed a night out with another couple. we arent sushi eaters and there is still plenty on the menus we can eat..
love that we feel like we are at a hip and fancy place but the prices are not too bad at all. very yummy desserts as well!
this place is great for anything. family, business lunches as well as a romantic or girls night out!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariamexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sushi and sashimi specialties”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The best place on Staten Island for excellent sushi and sashimi, including specialties like live scallop that aren't found everywhere else. The service is sometimes uneven, but overall not bad. Be prepared for a loud scene when it's busy on weekends and holidays. There is a great staff of the sushi chef and his workers. The manager keeps an eye on how things are going, and is responsive to any requests or complaints.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindajwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good food, Bad attitude”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We made reservations for a New Years Eve dinner at 8 Pm party of 12. Upon arriving we were informed that we had to be out NY 9:30 pm! How dare they tell us that, and did not tell us that when we made the reservation! Apparently they were having a new years eve party and wanted us out. So..needless to say we were rushed, rushed, rushed. After complaining to management they gave me a $10 gift certificate to mend the fence.....no thanks. Sadly the food was very good, but the way we were treated was horrible.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had driven by for years and never thought of going there for some unknown reason. Turned out to be good service, good lychee martinis, and very good spicy lobster and mango roll. Went all the way and got the light but delicious fried banana & ice cream dessert. We sat outside just across from the bar. Good ambiance in the early evening. Not cheap, but we will be going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I eat here all the time”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is bar far my go to place on the island. Whether its a girls night dinner or a dinner with my husband this is the place I love to eat. They have excellent sushi and specialty drinks. Ask for a table by the bar thats the more happening side of the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kricar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fushimi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Staten Island, NY
 
Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Fushimi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing