We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - housekeeping needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fenton, Michigan
2 reviews
“Good hotel - housekeeping needs work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Overall the hotel is very nice and they treat you well for being a honors member but I think the hotel housekeeping staff needs a refresher in making sure all aspects of the cleaning of the rooms is met. We did not get coffee replacement on both days and we were missing towels the last day we stayed. Minor housekeeping issues in the room but overall the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments you gave us on trip advisor we appreciate every guests that has things to say on how we can improve our Hotel. I have spoken to our housekeeping manager and she has assured me, we will make sur eall our guests amenties are replaced in a timely manner. Thank you again for also saying how much you enjoyred our Hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    170
    68
    37
    23
See reviews for
305
122
53
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This Hotel is our home away from Home. Its spotless clean...the staff is great and we Love it! We have stayed in other locations but were drawn back to this one based on the above reasons. They have a free shuttle to and from the Staten Island Ferry... a very nice Breakfact...24 Hr. coffee and Hot Chocalate....it is Safe and Comfy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cherie718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, We like to make all our guests feel llike this a home away from home. We are glad you got to use all our ammenties we have to offer, Especially our complementary shuttle to ferry. Thank you again for you kind comments.


Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

we were visiting our daughter for family weekend at her college and were pleased to find such great accommodations. We've stayed at Hampton inn's before and are always pleased. The only complaint is the pillows were too soft, and.... Make sure you get to breakfast before 10 or you'll find everything cleaned up!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our Hotel, we love when we get feedback from our guests. Yes breakfeast does open at 6am and closes at 10am, we do try to stay open a little late for our guest. As for our pillows we will look into geting firmer pillows for our guests. Thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you again real soon.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My family was displaced by Hurricane Sandy, the 1st few weeks I bounced around because I could not find a hotel with any availability. By chance I was able to get a room for one night the weekend after Thanksgiving. When I got there I explained my situation to Robin (one of the managers), she couldn't guarantee me anything but said if anything opened up she would try to get me another night. Well she did, I actually wound up staying until February. Today is the 1 year anniversary of Sandy and I want to extend my deepest gratitude to the staff here. For the 3 months that I stayed in this hotel they were amazing. Friendly, helpful, supportive. The rooms were clean, the linens changed regularly, fresh towels whenever we needed them. Breakfast was delicious, the swimming pool was a plus, the Business center came in handy. I have no complaints whatsoever. They had their hands full dealing with so many displaced and out of town guests, and I know some were hard to deal with and yet they handled everything with a smile and grace. Being that I live on Staten Island I don't see the need to have to stay there again (unless there was some other emergency) but I would highly recommend this hotel to all. They made a very hard situation more bearable for my family. We were grateful to have a warm, cozy, clean place to lay our heads at night, without any added burdens, to wake up to a great breakfast or run down during the night for a quick cup of coffee or tea. Thank you to Robin, Jamarow, Ben and the rest of the staff there, including housekeeping, the breakfast staff, etc. Though Fema paid for the hotel stay the staff were the ones who provided the outstanding service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Theresa K,

Thank you for your kind comments during a very rough time for you last year. We are glad we meet your expectations during a hard time. We hope we put a little happiness in your heart during that time. Robin and the rest of our staff always go above and beyond for all our guests, and we are glad you got to see that first hand. Once again we hope you get to stay with us on a more happier occasion.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed one night pre-cruise Worked out perfect! Van (free) was on time for pick-up at Newark Liberty. Van service is also offered to Staten Island ferry, however, was not available for last minute trip. Taxi is about $18-20. Location is very restful and a park like setting. Rooms a bit dated, however, very clean. We walked across parking lot (300-400 yards) to companion property Hilton Garden Inn for an early dinner at Lorenzo's. Excellent and reasonable. Breakfast might all my expectations (fresh, hot and variety). Front desk staff was friendly and stored our luggage in "secure" back area (with claim tags) for our mid-afternoon departure to cruise port (again a free van was provided). Reservations for van service is made 3-4 weeks out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Albert B,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We also love that you enjoyed our sister property Hilton Garden Inn restaraunt Lorenzo's, our owners take great pride in making sure all of their guest stays are perfect. Once again thank you for your comments and hope you stay with us again.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I reserved 4 suites for 2 days for my daughter’s wedding. At the last minute, the hotel called me that there was no room available for the 1st day! It caused a huge damage to us. there was no one knows what happened in front desk and no one come to apologize.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Wei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Wei Z,

I apologize that our Hotel did not have four rooms for you, We had a group that extended and we offered to relocate you to another Hotel on your first night. We did not know it was a Wedding, we did offer to pay for first night and we gave your son in law discounts on all four rooms the next day. He declined the first night staying at another hotel, but kept the discounted next day. Sorry we know it was a special day for you. Please call me at 718 477-1600 so we can talk about the situation. Sorry for any inconvience this caused, we try and make every guest stay the most enjoyable it can be.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
238 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here many nights over the past few years and my stay is always good. The location is great. My only real complaint is the amount of activity and noise in the hallways from frequent rude guests but that is the norm in NY/NJ hotels.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ILiveOutofaSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Dukquack,

Thank you for your kind words on your stay here , we pride ourself on making our guests stay the best it can be. Once again thank you for the comments, it makes us take pride in making our guest experience enjoyable.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Address: 1120 South Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shuttle is provided through the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot from Hampton Inn & Suites property. Please contact hotel directly in advance to confirm pick up and drop off. New York State Law prohibits the use of a commercially operated pool without a contracted life guard present. This stipulates our pool hours. Monday through Friday 5pm-10pm and Saturday and Sunday 9am-8pm, (accommodations for pool are set at the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot while our pool is closed or blocked off due to pool parties.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Staten Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hampton Inn Staten Island
Staten Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing