We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought they couldn't improved but they did.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I thought they couldn't improved but they did.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed here before and loved it, therefore it was easy to pick it again. The first stay was so wonderful, that I thought they couldn't improve but they did. The rooms were amazing. We had a 2 Queen bed room and the size of it were insane. We even had a couch, a lounge chair and a table for four. As we come from Europe we ended up with credit card problems. When we asked for permission to install some programs on their computers in the business center they said ok. However it didn't work, so when we told the front desk they said we could use their computer. That was truly fantastic. We got everything solved. Breakfast is wonderful and the location is perfect for a trip to NYC. It's just a 20 min drive and an $8 parking ticket then you're on the ferry.
So a very big thank you to Manager Kenya Cain and her wonderful staff from Denmark.

Room Tip: Get a 2 bed room far away from the front desk. They are very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear alsch1,

Thank you for the great comments you said about us. Thank you and we are glad you think we improved from your last vist. We strive at trying to improve our guest stays and try and find new ways to make our guests feel like this is a home away from home. I have advised Kenya you were pleased with her service, she is truely a great asset to our our hotel. Once again thank you for your kind comments.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    175
    73
    41
    23
See reviews for
318
125
54
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a lovely stay here. Reception staff very helpful. Good service and experience of rooms.
Shame there's no restaurant but the facilities are all good.
Inclusive breakfast is good but basic.
Pool great for the children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear naab00,

Thank you for your kind compliaments you gave us on tripadviser. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure knowing that we succeeded in making any and all ours guests stays the most enjoyable they can be. Once again thank you for staying with us and hope to see you real soon.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Hampton Inn Hotel is a Great hotel, clean, quiet, out of the city but close by. I could always use a cheaper rate, fairly priced for NYC area. Staff is good, and plenty of free parking, free breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Nancy F,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We love when our guests are happy with their stays. As for rates we are cheaper then NYC and compartable to other hotels in our area. Please call me and we can talk about working on rates with you. Thanks again for your kind comments.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very nice clean hotel. Would definitely stay again. Staff was very accommodating. We had 10 families staying for a baseball tournament and they kept the pool open later just for us. The rooms were clean and the breakfast had more than enough choices for the kids and adults.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear David S,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your staff with us. We appriciate hearing that are guest really enjoy their stay here. We hope your baseball group was just as happy as you were. Once again thank you for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having lived on Staten Island, I can tell you that this is the best value that you will get on the island. This hotel is super modern and comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. It was a great value for friends and family visiting us here in NYC and while it is located on the South Shore of Staten Island, the hotel provides a free shuttle service to the North Shore where you can hop on the Staten Island ferry, get pictures of the Statue of Liberty as you sail across the harbor, and then hop off to see the big NYC attractions on the Manhattan side.

Wonderful and affordable value in New York City!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYC_Travelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Nyc_Travelisto,

Thank you for your kind comments, we pride ourself on giving our guests the best possible service we can. We appriciate you gave us these glowing recomandations, and that means alot to us.Look forward to your next trip here and would love to meet you.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Many people think of Staten Island as a dumpsite -- literally. But like most places this 102-square-mile borough on NYC has neighborhoods that run the gamut from scary to posh. The Hampton Inn Staten Island is in an upscale "business park" landscaped with bronz sculptures and plenty of flowers. It shares its location and owners with a very upscale Hilton Garden Inn convention center, and between the two properties you have plenty of amenities to enjoy -- pools, spa, shopping, several restaurants, etc.

Like most Hamptons, it is well-kept; the staff are first rate; and the price is much more affordable than what you'd pay for a similar property in Manhattan.

You can't walk to the Staten Island Ferry -- and that's too bad -- but you can schedule a ride on their free shuttle to the Ferry -- and that's good because it means you can drive to NYC without actually driving into NYC. Just drive to the hotel, which is conveniently located right off an interstate highway, leave your car at the hotel, take the 20-minute shuttle ride to/from the Ferry, take the free Staten Island Ferry to/from the Battery Park area, and then the subway or taxis to/from anyplace else in the City. Very easy. Very enjoyable.

My only complaint about the hotel is that the lifeguard seemed to be "on break" every time I wanted to swim. (NY law requires hotels to have lifeguards on duty when anyone swims.) Lifeguard hours weren't posted, and the whole situation was inconvenient if you wanted to use the pool.

Still, I'd definitely stay again, and I do recommend it to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPincheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear MrsPincheon,

Thank you for your kind comments you said about us. Our owners take great pride in their business park and landscape. Also thank you for the comments you said about our staff, we love when ours guests enjoy their stay. So thank you again for the nice comments. Look forward to seeing you, when you vist our hotel again.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A great way to visit NYC for a few days. Also. some wonderful sites to see in Staten Island, like the small zoo and the ferry. The hotel is great very clean and quite. You just can not believe you are so close to NYC. Wonderful views from the ferry. No need to take other boat tours. Both day and night are great. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ontheroad2362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are gld you had a great time and letting others know of some of the great things to do on our beutiful Island. We love when our guests enjoy their stay with us and pride ourselves on making every guest feel special.

Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
93 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
354 reviews
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Address: 1120 South Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shuttle is provided through the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot from Hampton Inn & Suites property. Please contact hotel directly in advance to confirm pick up and drop off. New York State Law prohibits the use of a commercially operated pool without a contracted life guard present. This stipulates our pool hours. Monday through Friday 5pm-10pm and Saturday and Sunday 9am-8pm, (accommodations for pool are set at the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot while our pool is closed or blocked off due to pool parties.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Staten Island
Hampton Inn Staten Island
Staten Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing