We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, austere alternative in New York City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, austere alternative in New York City”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I saw the other reviews on Tripadvisor and decided to save a bit of money from Manhattan prices and stay in Staten Island. Danuta, the owner of this B&B is engaging, has some great stories to tell about her life in New York, and makes a beautiful breakfast. Staying here is like immersing yourself in the past and the current culture of Staten Island.

If you are adventurous, I highly recommend staying here. But be cautioned that the surrounding areas of the North Shore of Staten Island are gritty and intimidating to an outsider. Access to the Staten Island Ferry is an easy bus ride away. However, the bus stop is near a waste water treatment plant and dilapidated buildings and auto body repair lots. It's not pretty. Our hostess assured us that the neighborhood was safe and crime was low, but our cab driver told us to be careful and not walk around after dark.

On the other hand, the street that the B&B is on has a mix of tidy old homes, new homes, and homes that have been utterly neglected. We did go for a couple of walks and I was a bit nervous, to be honest. Nothing happened, I'm happy to say.

The house itself needs some serious upkeep to the outside. If you arrive in summer, be mindful that the house does not have central air and it can be scorching hot! The bedrooms do have individual air conditioner units, but it takes awhile for them to cool the room. If you have heavy luggage, you will also have to heave it up some steep stairs unless Danuta allows you to store them downstairs. If there are other guests, you may have to share a bathroom; either way, you have to walk down the hall. The room itself was tidy and large, which was nice. Danuta has filled the house with antiques and it feels like a step back in time.

To conclude, I recommend this place for hearty couples or young people looking for an inexpensive alternative to traditional hotels and the expenses of Manhattan. You can take public transportation or call Clove Lakes Car Service in Staten Island for reasonable prices from the Newark Airport. It is a different experience from Manhattan and a peek into the diversity, industry, and economic hardship of Staten Island.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silver_Lake23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
39
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2010

LOVE IT! I Walked in to this lovely B&B and felt i was in that time period! If u love victorian this is the place for u.The owner is a ms.Danuta Gorlach and she is the perfect hostess to this lovely house.She will make sure u are comfortable and try to fit ur needs.She serves a lovely breakfast and makes u feel at home.The rooms are lovely and very clean. She has truly captured the romance of the victorian times.. I plan to stay at this quaint B&B in the future when i come back to N.Y. Im sure if u stay at this quaint B&B u will not regret it!! ...........Way to go Danuta!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSESNLACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellegarde sur Valserine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Danuta is the most wonderful host. From Jan 4th to Jan 8th we have been experiencing not only a cosy atmosphere, simply the best and daily changing breakfast, great conversation about history, arts and culture but also a hospitality that goes the extra mile. We (2 adults with our best friend and our three daughters) enjoyed crisp and cold Staten Island and Manhatten at times when the city is still quite and SALES are phantastic. Thanks to Danuta´s spacious B&B we got all our stuff safely stored and finally en route back home.

Danuta: Thanks so much and there is always a space at our place if you consider travelling to FRANCE.

www.chateau-mussel.fr

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chateau_Mussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex-n-dafne
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island is the absolute B&B my wife and I have ever been to (we've stayed in numerous B&Bs throughout the USA). Danuta Gorlach is a magnificent host. She really goes above and beyond, makes the most delicious and generous breakfast you've ever had, and puts the cherry on top with fascinating conversation on numerous topics. The house is beautiful, comfortable and cozy. The atmosphere is second to none. The rooms are awesome. The 10-minute bus/taxi ride to the Staten Island Ferry is, no question, worthwhile. The ferry is enjoyable. 45 minutes to Downtown Manhattan altogether when you know the schedules.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex-n-dafne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

I stayed here on my own before I ran the NY marathon, which starts on Staten Island. Danuta is a wonderful host and really looked after me and fellow guests. She made sure we had a huge array of delicious food for breakfast and I enjoyed a few slices of her yummy pumpkin cake during the day too. The rooms are very quiet and very comfortable and it was the perfect place for me to stay pre-marathon. I found the neighbourhood very friendly too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanieOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Lovely home on the Island with beautiful rooms, a gracious host and wonderful breakfast. We stayed on the second floor in a large room with comfortable bed and period furniture. Denuta, our hostess was gracious and helpful and has thought of "everything" you might need for your comfort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noragibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster Co, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The area was questionable but we had no problems throughout our stay. The location was close to the ferry and some retail establishments. The rooms were beautifully decorated with period pieces and the breakfast was unbelievable! Too much food actually! The innkeeper did everything to make our stay welcoming, our room was comfortable and clean, the bed was so comfortable. We truely enjoyed our stay and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariacdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staten Island hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
347 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
358 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island

Property: Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island
Address: 92 Taylor St, Staten Island, NY 10310-1226
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant house is located on the North Shore of Staten Islanmd,in the town of West New Brighton,a "restorative country place one of New York City most agreeable suburbs" as quoted by mid 19 th century contemporaries.Only 17 minutes by the city bus to famous Staten Island Ferry and attraction of Manhattan beconing beyond.This fine Italianette Villa,dating back to 1847 is crowned with a cupola and has marble fireplace mantles in every room.Original victorian decore includes mirrors paintings and some furniture that are original to the house.There are four bedrooms and two bath.One of bedrooms is a suite with two rooms to accommodate three persons.Guest will enjoy full breakfast.Tv in the living room. Free access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing