We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good stay if you need to take a breath from Manhattan's tourist factory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good stay if you need to take a breath from Manhattan's tourist factory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed three nights in august in this charming B&B.
The place is clean and the guest is ...top.
You will appreciate the breakfast and probably learn about staten island "gangster history".
The house is supposed to have welcomed some of them...a long time ago...
If you're with children, it's perfect (two rooms + kitchen & shared bathroom).
Staten island ferry is not so close (you need a car or you have to take a taxi; you will find them easily at the ferry terminal 5/8$), but if you like the bay you will appreciate the cruise two times a day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabrice21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pforzheim, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at this B&B in August. It is conveniently located for visiting New York City as the Staten Island Ferry is within easy reach. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the breakfast kept us going until well into the afternoon. The owner makes every effort to keep the guests happy. If we visit NYC again, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The three rooms on the top floor are ideal for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilkare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the beautiful b&b. The inn-keeper, Danuta is a lovely friendly lady who goes out of her way to please her guests. We stayed on the top floor of this 1850's Victorian home and it was just perfect. The room even has a sun room attached. The area is very safe and quiet.
Breakfast is superb and Danuta will meet your meal preferences as much as possible. It was great chatting to Danuta over breakfast and getting to know NYC from a local who has been in the area for many years.
We felt very comfortable at this b&b and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The house interior furnishings were lovely and the breakfast was good.
The main problem is that the owner keeps the house HOT and does not try to cool it down even with window AC units. Absurd especially in the summer when guests are trying to escape the heat. When we arrived it was almost 10 p.m., and our room was 100 degrees! If you know you have guests coming and they are paying over $100.00 a night, the least you can do is cool the room down. It took us most of the night for one small window AC unit and sleeping on top of the sheets to sleep comfortably. Because it was so hot during the day, we left the one window AC unit on in our room so the room would stay cool only to return to find out the owner turned it off during the day (probably when the bed was made) and so when we returned again that night our room was sweltering. Keep in mind this is how she keeps the entire house. The bathroom was also hot. Very uncomfortable to use the toilet when you sweat while sitting on the seat and when you get out of the shower, you are no better off. When we went down for breakfast, after one cup of hot tea, we were breaking out in a sweat and sticking to the chairs.
Maybe everyone else who left rave reviews really LOVE to sweat or maybe they went in the cooler months, but for the price you pay for a room, the least the owner could do is make the interior temperature tolerable. Terrible to make paying guests sweat like that.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a windoew AC unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

When we go to Staten Island (which we do because our son attends college there), we always do two other things: 1. we take the free ferry to Manhattan and 1. we stay at the Victorian Bed & Breakfast nearby. This charming historic house is owned by a lovely woman, a Polish architect, who oversees everything with care and taste. The rooms are spacious, comfy, and filled with antiques. The breakfasts are wonderful, not only to eat but to share with other guests and our hostess with lively discussions. We also got helpful advice about sight-seeing on the Island as well as dinner choices. Parking is free and available on the street. And the bill leaves one able to stay over an extra night!

Room Tip: Call for reservations, don't sign up on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenfren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights the week-end of May 22-23. It was great! Danuta made us feel very welcome and prepared the most amazing breakfast for us! The room was comfortable and spotless. In addition, the Victorian charm decor! We will be back for sure.

Thank you Danuta and salutations from Ottawa, Canada

Yanick and Rebeca

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeca_reyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Wow ! This is the perfect blend:  Warm, cozy with huge rooms by any standards with the Victorian atmosphere. Danuta is the perfect host with her home cooking breakfast and numerous tips about anything from parking at the ferry to the history of Staten Island... 

Everything Danuta does is done with CLASS from the decoration, to the bed linen used (feel like getting into a velvet glove), to the small attentions she gives to the guests. Truly, it is a 4 star experience, I would come back anytime, she is on top of my list for NYC

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
2.3 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island

Property: Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island
Address: 92 Taylor St, Staten Island, NY 10310-1226
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant house is located on the North Shore of Staten Islanmd,in the town of West New Brighton,a "restorative country place one of New York City most agreeable suburbs" as quoted by mid 19 th century contemporaries.Only 17 minutes by the city bus to famous Staten Island Ferry and attraction of Manhattan beconing beyond.This fine Italianette Villa,dating back to 1847 is crowned with a cupola and has marble fireplace mantles in every room.Original victorian decore includes mirrors paintings and some furniture that are original to the house.There are four bedrooms and two bath.One of bedrooms is a suite with two rooms to accommodate three persons.Guest will enjoy full breakfast.Tv in the living room. Free access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing