We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting historic location with great view on NYC”
Review of Fort Wadsworth

Fort Wadsworth
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Private Historic Tour of North Shore Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fort played an important role in U.S. history starting during the Revolutionary War.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting historic location with great view on NYC”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had a great time visiting the Fort in a 45 minute walk, we enjoyed the explanations of the different installations and the quietness of the site

Helpful?
Thank FePap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    44
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Decent visit”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you enjoy visiting historic sites, you will likely enjoy Fort Wadsworth. It isn't as formal as many other historic sites of its sort in America, but it is in a pleasant setting, and is in fairly good condition. A large caveat, though, is that much of the fort is inaccessible, as it has been locked. A good place if you want to just walk around a little bit, and enjoy a picnic. Lovely views of the river.

There was also a floating drydock just off-shore when I visited, so if you have an interest in maritime things like that, you might like taking a gander at it from shore.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Damariscotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love it here”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

It is most definitely a place to check out. The park right next to it can see just over the Fort and the fort itself is so cool.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rkrystine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
209 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“interesting part of SI and NYC History”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We visited Fort Wadsworth when my family came to visit. This is a well maintained place, full of history about it's importance in the New York harbor. The park rangers and volunteers were all very knowledgeable and friendly. We watched a movie presentation at the center and it is short but very informative, the exhibits inside were all clean, in working condition, and interesting. I would have loved to have visited during a tour time, but this was an impromptu visit. We saw some wild goats in the ruins which were really cute and the views of the harbor are great. The bathrooms were well maintained. We will return to take an official tour, especially since this attraction is free.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pietrosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
510 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A Piece of Military History with a Great View”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Battery Weed play a pivotal role in the protection of NY Harbor. There are historical plaques throughout the park and guided tours provided by the US Park Service. Enjoy the spectacular views of NY Harbor.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbbob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Wadsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing