We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Piece of Military History with a Great View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Wadsworth

Fort Wadsworth
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Private Historic Tour of North Shore Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fort played an important role in U.S. history starting during the Revolutionary War.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
487 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A Piece of Military History with a Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Battery Weed play a pivotal role in the protection of NY Harbor. There are historical plaques throughout the park and guided tours provided by the US Park Service. Enjoy the spectacular views of NY Harbor.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbbob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
251 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice Picnic Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

A nice Museum and great views of the Bridge and Brooklyn

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank armypilot44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A nice peas of I.S history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I went there with for friends a few years ago,it was nice very differet place some thing you don't see in everyday life,this place is good to check it out one's in you life as a local.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank vincent1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fort with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Amazing view of the Verrazano Bridge! Take a guided tour and learn about the history of Fort Wadsworth, well worth the visit.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure on Staten Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

On a recent trip to visit family in Staten Island we had some extra time and took a walk through Fort Wadsworth which is just around the corner from my brother's house. I have been visiting this area for over forty years and was amazed that this was just around the corner. The views of the harbor and Manhattan are some of the best around. You can watch tankers and cruise ships coming in and out of the harbor under the Verrazano Bridge and see the tugboats come up to bring the ships into the inner harbor and New Jersey. In addition to that there is all the history. The fort is a park now and you can take a tour or wander by yourself and read all the plaques. The old fortressses and bases for the cannons are all still there. Great place to spend a few hours and soak up some history. You can see the new Twin Towers going up too over in lower Manhattan. And it's free!! I can't believe that I grew up in Brooklyn and spent forty years visiting Staten Island and never ventured into the fort. I had to move to Massachusetts and go back for a visit to find it. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cakecodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Wadsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing