We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, particularly for those 55+”
Review of Perkins Restaurant & Bakery - CLOSED

Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Very good, particularly for those 55+”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is another in the Perkins chain. This one is very convenient, in a strip mall with adequate parking, and is open 24 hours on weekends. While the menus are the same in these restaurants, the cooks, of course, differ. The one we had last night was a superstar. Everything we ordered was perfect. My wife had a simple omelette while I had the turkey dinner. The place is very clean, the coffee and tea are hot, and the servers are pleasant. While this is not a place I think of as in any way up-scale, it is a good choice for a quick and simple meal. The menus change over time as Perkins tries different dishes and as the seasons change (think more pumpkin-related items around Haloween.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staten_Islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perkins: best bet for breakfast”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There are at least 3 different Perkins restaurants on Staten Island, all with the same menu. Their breakfasts are excellent and reasonably priced. My favorite midweek special breakfast is Perkins' "pigs in blankets". For $5.99 you get pancakes, sausages, eggs, potatoes and coffee. It's more than I can finish. There are at least 6 other similarly priced complete breakfasts. I'm not a big fan of their lunch and dinner items.
Popoo

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Popoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

One thing I like about Perkins is their changing menu. While there are several favorites that have been offered for years, they also experiment with new breakfast dishes as well as different dinner items. This particular restaurant on Amboy Road has a friendly staff that provides professional service. You will see regulars come in - their coffee or tea is brought over almost before they sit down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JettFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“repeat brekfast location”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

this is where to get breakfast . They make the best of everything for breakfast and long lines are worth the wait

Helpful?
Thank LetGoOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“it's perkins no surprise here.”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Perkins falls into the categorie of a safe american food place to eat. No surprises here if you ever ate at one you more or less ate at em all.But by far they always have great pies.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlito w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkins Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 
Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing