We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, but it's TIGHT in there!”
Review of Trattoria Romana

Trattoria Romana
Ranked #10 of 820 Restaurants in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Place, but it's TIGHT in there!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

OK, so a quick summary: Great food, good service, not enough room.

The food at Trattoria Romana is always, and I mean ALWAYS, terrific. Get any of the specials and you can not go wrong. We were welcomed like our uncle owned the place and there was never anyone pushing us to finish and leave. It is a tight squeeze inside so be prepared to hear everything the neighboring table says and does.

Absolutely worth every penny and they have spectacular food. I really don't like eating on top of other people so we only go on off hours/days.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    55
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Audubon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Better than great!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The menu is very diverse and the specials were numerous! We are working in Elizabeth, NJ doing seminars and a participant suggested we try Trattoria Romana in Staten Island, a short trip from town. We were very happy we did! The veal special was delicious, the pasta perfect, and the owner and a chef visited our table to insure we were enjoying our meal. We will be revisiting the week of May 5, 2014 to participate in their pig roast event.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent. Welcomed like family.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Trattoria Romana has earned its stars on Staten Island for refined, fresh Italian food shared with you as if you were a long-esteemed family member.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very crowded”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Food excellent, stuffed in like sardines...service ok....specials listed on a board which is not always easy to see....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jag84com1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“yummy”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

good food but the tables are very close so you feel like you're sharing your table with strangers. the waiting area is right when you walk into the restaurant so you are all stuffed together like clams.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Romana also viewed

 
Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Trattoria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing