We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waiter”
Review of Trattoria Romana

Trattoria Romana
Ranked #10 of 820 Restaurants in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
staten island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“waiter”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

a while back i had gone to Trattoria Romana we always went there for any occasion and also just for dinner . Some waiters are very nice, but this one night we were a bit confused with the bill and we always leave a good tip.but this one night for some reason we got a bit confused and did not. Would you believe the waiter ran after us to our car and said we did not leave a tip and waited for us to give him one. I will never set foot in there again

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    55
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food, Cramped Quarters”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food is the best on Staten Island, but it's slightly mitigated by the crowded atmosphere (the food really is exceptional!) and the somewhat informal service. Best bet: Eat early to avoid the inevitable crowds.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Something must have changed”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Only heard great things about this restaurant, but was disappointed with the food. Don't know if they've changed chefs or kitchen staff however food was just ok or mediocre. We had a total of 13 in our party, and aside from one chicken dish all the rest were not impressed. Hope they go back to the way things were.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Authentic Style Roman Food in NYC”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have visited Rome Italy in the past. Trattoria Romana's food comes
very close to authenticity. Sauces, pasta and meats beautifully and
tastefully prepared to order.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank evefrSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Trattoria has some interesting items on the menu and the regular standbys you would expect on an Italian restuarant menu. The clientele can be loud, which is tough in a small, tiled dining room, but it's worth it to eat there at least once.

Helpful?
Thank jennifer821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Romana also viewed

 
Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Trattoria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing