We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We go to Staten Island just to eat here”

Denino's Pizzeria & Tavern
Ranked #3 of 816 Restaurants in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We go to Staten Island just to eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wife's absolute favorite pizza in the world!! Great old fashioned thin crust well done pizza, lightly sauced, and the perfect amount of cheese. A great value at just $13 for a cheese pie. Topped pies are just as good and also reasonable. We also get the Mozzarella sticks (5) with Marina sauce and the fried Calamari which comes with a spicier sauce on the side (order is large). The waitstaff is much friendlier now than in the old days. Overall terrific meal with appetizers and sodas for under $20 a person. In the summer you can cross the street to Ralph's Ices for desert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJBLUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    141
    37
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Every time we go to Staten Island, we have to get our "pizza fix" at Denino's. Myrtle Beach has lousy pizza so we look forward to eating here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We are glad to find this place. The pizza was really good and the service too. My husband even said "best pizza ever" and he knows about pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimny85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Classic Thin Crust. Still the Best Staten Island has to Offer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

If there's one thing Staten Island has a surplus of its pizzeria and as a Richmond County resident I can vouch for many of these places. There are a select few that are great; several that I'd consider good and some that just flat out suck. Denino's is truly one of the greats and most likely the best pizza place on Staten Island.

Denino's has been around forever and has captured a massive neighborhood following. The spot has always been popular among the locals from Port Richmond and Westerleigh. The crispy thin crust pizza is amazing and everyone knows it, which is why when you visit there is usually a wait to be seated. I never mind waiting, that's why the bar is there for you to enjoy a beer and catch a couple innings of the game while the tables flip. The place has been renovated within the last few years and it looks great; with particular props to the black and white murals of images of old New York.

The menu is what you'd expect from your typical pizzeria, featuring appetizers like fried calamari, Buffalo wings, mozzarella sticks and garlic bread. The pizza menu is diverse enough, with your usual list of toppings as well as a few specialty pies all of which are cooked to achieve that irresistible crispy crust. There are also sandwiches and heroes on the menu but no true entree dishes, which is fine because the only reason people visit this place is for the pizza.

The service is always very prompt and keeps moving so tables can turn quick enough to accommodate the flow of people constantly coming in. The prices are just fine; the same as most places but the quality is superior. The only disappointment about Denino's is the location. It sits in an area of Port Richmond where parking is very limited, and the available parking is generally further away than you'd care to be. The parking lot (if you'd even call it that) can maybe fit two or three cars and is next to the one way Hooker Place which gets crowded very quickly. Ultimately you will find a place to park, but it can be a pain at first so keep that in mind.


Do be sure to visit Denino's, I rate it as the best pizzeria on Staten Island and I think many others would agree. After pizza run across the street to Ralph's Ices for dessert, you will not be disappointed. Denino's and Ralph's Ices go hand in hand so please enjoy both!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amlaped986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casual dining, terrific pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We came straight from playing golf so wanted someplace super casual. This place was perfect. Had great pizza, salad and a carafe of wine, under$40 for 2 people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denino's Pizzeria & Tavern also viewed

Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Denino's Pizzeria & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing