We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of Woodrow Diner

Woodrow Diner
Ranked #525 of 823 Restaurants in Staten Island
Cuisines: American, Greek
Restaurant details
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food here is very reasonably priced, always tasty and served quick. Absolutely love the "Woodrow Diner" salad" too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SARossini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Five times the hair”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I have lived near this diner for a few years now. We've visited this place about 6 times over the last few years. It cannot be a coincidence that every single time we order something someone has a5 inch brown hair in the food. This visit it was mixed in with the garden omlet. I don't know if they enforce the health code laws to wear hair nets but this is becoming ridiculous and scary. My wife doesn't like to make a scene and feels that a waitress would have gotten in trouble for this. This is the only reason why I didn't complain and have it taken off my bill. I am disgusted. This is the last time I could even step foot in this filthy place.

Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“overpriced & bad service what there famous for”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

you sit down at a bare table and that's the way it stays . After a long time you are asked for drinks (must have went to the coke factory for it ) never to be seem again until I called the manager. was very pricey for a local diner the everything on one plate mixing together ( just order the stew) Still waiting for a napkin have to ask for everything salt ,butter ,ketchup stay away

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The food is overpriced and mediocre at best. The kitchen is a Cinco de Mayo festival. I personally believe if a restaurant owner is knowingly violating the law and hiring illegal aliens, he may also be violating other laws as well, maybe even health and food safety laws.





festival festival

Helpful?
1 Thank 17321799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“B Rating”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was once a nice place to eat. Last time we went for breakfast it took forever to be served.Coffee cups had lipstick on rims..disgusting. It took 45 minutes to receive our order of simple eggs,which were undercooked and were served with cold potatoes and toast! We returned the order and the the next order was burnt.. I guess they made their point. We complained to owner and he did apologize stating that they were having a busy day. Waitress was totally arrogant and laughing at the situation. The B rating sign was on side window.... Didn't notice it until we were leaving. Very bad experience and we will never go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linspiration1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodrow Diner also viewed

Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Woodrow Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing