We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going to be tough to top this one!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Sogno Ristorante

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Il Sogno Ristorante
Ranked #301 of 809 Restaurants in Staten Island
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Going to be tough to top this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were traveling with another couple on a trip to NYC and a family member that lives in the area took us here for an evening of fun and dining. We started with appetizers that were fantastic. My wife and I both had the Chilean Sea Bass and we were both blown away by the preparation of this dish. Best fish meal we have ever had!

The Maître d (Mario) actually serenaded the ladies with an Italian love song (great voice too). We had after dinner drinks, desert and everything was great. We were treated to the best evening of dining and entertainment we all have ever had and I observed other tables getting the same treatment. II Sogno and Mario set the bar really high, going to be tough to top this one!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve44883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Use to be great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had dinner there Saturday March 2nd 2013 The waiter brought me the wrong dinner and never came back after he went to the kitchen We had an after dinner drink and thought he would buy us same to smooth things over said he couldn't do it.The place is loud and this waiter just does not care and we were REGULARS.The owner is out of town and no where to be found the past couple of weeks .Before we left the Maitre D asked how was dinner I said awful and he said great I am happy to hear that -He didn't even hear me-and cannot understand English.

This place won't make it much longer

To many other great resturants to bother with this nonsense-Cross this one off the list forever

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“very pretty place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

this is a nice place to eat, they have a good selection of food and the staff is excellent, its so nice to eat someplace that has a friendly staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kricar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hubby and I had been meaning to try Il Sogno since they opened (2 years ago!). Yesterday, we ventured into Annandale and lunched there. What a delightful surprise! We had been to this restaurant when it was previously owned. The restaurant is very lovely inside and comfortable. They offer a prix fix lunch which was exceptional. The bread was served very warm, which is always a 'perk' (our opinion). The salad (we could have had soup or salad) was a bit different, with large green olives, cucumbers, etc., in a lovely dressing. Our entrees were hot, fresh & delicious. Dessert and coffee was also included. The service was very good; our waiter & his assistant were so attentive. We were very pleased with our new 'find' and hope to return again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQ044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was my second trip to this restaurant. The food is good and so is the service. They usually have live entertainment which leads it to be a little noisy as people try talking over the music.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tct3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Sogno Ristorante also viewed

 
Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Il Sogno Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing