We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel, excellent staff”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here last week when our plans of staying with family on Staten Island were changed by a relatively last minute surgery. The hotel staff, particularly Kay, went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our room was massive (we were upgraded to a suite) and was very clean. Upon arriving in our room, Kay had goodie bags filled with snacks, a teddy bear (wearing a Staten Island t-shirt), and free in-room movie rental waiting for us. It was certainly more than we expected! To top it all off, we were given vouchers for free breakfast for the 3 mornings of our stay. I’ve read reviews that the Above nightclub can be a loud and somewhat a nuisance but that was never an issue during our stay, and we were there all weekend. It was also great having the free shuttle that would take us to the ferry so we could get into the city. On our last night, Kay surprised us again by having chocolate covered strawberries, champagne, and another free movie voucher sent to our room.

I cannot stress enough how friendly and welcoming the staff was at the hotel, and Kay went well above and beyond to make us feel special. If they treat every guest half as good as we were, I can guarantee that you will have an excellent stay. The next time we are in need of a hotel in New York, the Hilton Garden Inn will be the first (and only) place we look.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylinn H, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Kellie B,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. I'm glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and special. I sincerely hope that we see you again. Please contact me directly if you're ever back in the area. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    246
    120
    80
    59
See reviews for
381
237
70
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

These were written in a glass case with Dorothy's Ruby slippers stationed by the lobby elevators. I was an exhausted traveler in town for my mother's funeral…it was comforting to be in a hotel that truly cared and hoped the Hilton would deliver on this promise. My son's had already checked in ahead of my husband and me. I was so surprised when the staff referred to my son's by their names. What a wonderful first impression! Everyone at the hotel bent over backwards to accommodate our every need. The rooms were impeccable and very very comfortable. 11 of us had dinner at Lorenzo's - together we have enjoyed the best of dining in North End, Little Italy and even in Tuscany. Lorenzo's food was equally amazing! The following night - our family wanted a quiet place to be together. The staff must have sensed our need to be alone and stepped up to the occasion. They led us into a room with huge, comfortable chairs and a beautiful Christmas tree…and allowed us to order take out pizza and and even delivered wine glasses for some special wine our family members had brought in. It was absolutely perfect. Hilton Garden Inn, you exceeded our expectations. Not sure how a 5 story hotel could make us feel like we were "at home", but you did and we are so grateful to all of you! In my book you are not only a 5 story hotel, but also , and more importantly, you are a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenFitzBoltonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylinn H, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear EileenFitzBoltonMA,
While I'm sorry about the nature of your stay with us, I'm glad that we were able to make you feel comfortable and at home. We strive to exceed the expecations of our guests. I'm glad you were able to use many of our amenities. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you under better circumstances in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The staff to include the front desk, housekeeping, and restaurant were top notch. We would highly recommend this hotel. We had a slight problem with our room upon check in and were immediately presented with a new key and new room. The restaurant staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Donald F,

It is wonderful to hear that even though you have an issue. the staff at the hotel was able to turn it around and you had a great expereince. Thank you for the recommandations to come and the great review now. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOKLYN, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

VERY DISAPPONTED - I stay in the Hilton Hotels all around the country. The Room was filthy and smelled dirty. Desk personnel was nasty - spoke to the 'manager in charge' (male) who stated he was the boss of the entire hotel and not only was he nasty but SARCASTIC!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Nicholas V,

I would like to take this time to apologize for your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. We take all complaints very seriously and want to rectify them to your satisfaction. Your experience is not a common practice here and we would like to make it up to you if given the chance on your next visit. Please contact me personally before you arrive and I will be more than happy to make sure that your next stay is above and beyond your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The staff and service quality at this hotel meet all expectations. It is nice to have a quality place to stay that offers a full restaurant, room service, and front desk staff. Since my trip was for business, it felt good to have a safe, clean atmosphere to return to in the evening after working all day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Susan K,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We train our staff to go above and beyond for our guest and provide exceptional service. It great to hear that you got to experience the whole hotel. We hope that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We originally tried to book a hotel room in Jersey City but the cost was prohibitive. Approx 2X more. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel and its' surroundings. We will definitely use them again when we are visiting this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear David H.

Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. We will definitely love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you don't want to stay in New York City, this is the perfect place to stay. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Ferry. You just have to book the shuttle in advance and give yourself enough time to get to your destination. Top notch hotel and much cheaper than staying in Manhattan.

Rooms are small but clean, that didn't matter to us. Lorenzo's restaurant is a little pricey but you will get a fine dining experience; service and food was excellent. Staff was very accommodating. When we arrived, we had to eat and run to get to a 2pm show in Broadway. They served us lunch at bar at 11:30, even though the restaurant did not open until noon.

Staff wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay, this is one of the best experiences I have ever had at a hotel. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: I would stay on one of the mid level floors. There is a lot going on here. Restaurants and ball ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiltonisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Daer Hiltonisbest,

It's wonderful to here that you have a great experience at the hotel and thank you for the wonderful review. Glad to hear that you were able to use our shuttle and eat at Lorenzo's and give feedback on that as well. We will be looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Executive Suites
Hotel Executive Suites
#2 of 2 in Carteret
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
Address: 1100 South Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hilton Staten Island
Staten Island Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing