We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As close to Phili without crossing a bridge.”
Review of Shaggy's Original Cheesesteak - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shaggy's Original Cheesesteak
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Description: 718-980-7200
Restaurant details
Description: 718-980-7200
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
253 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“As close to Phili without crossing a bridge.”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great cheese steaks for the NYC area. They are as authentic to Philadelphia's as you'll get without driving down yourself.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank armypilot44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

ThIs place has the best food on staten iland. The CHEESESTEAKS ARE AWESOME. I had the staten italy sandwich. My friend had the WINGS WHICH WERE JUICY AND HUGE. I LoveTHIS place. Plus there OPEN TILL 4 AM on the weekends. GREAT FOOD

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sonnybrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gross!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went here to pick up a sandwich to bring home for dinner. I got a steak sandwich with red peppers. When I got home and took a bite out of the sandwich I bit down on something hard. Bones? Something worse? Turns out it was the stem to the red pepper. They left the ENTIRE hard stem on the pepper. Grossed me out, wouldn't come here again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank loricr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This Is Authentic South Philly”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I am a New Yorker who went to college in Philadelphia and lived in the city for six years. I know my cheesesteaks. This is a real Philadelphia cheesesteak. It tastes just like the ones at Pat's in South Philly,. They put a bit more Cheese Whiz than Pat's but that is a good difference.,

Also had a wonderful roast pork sandwich there on a return visit.

This restaurant should also get an award for sloppiest sandwiches in New York. Each sandwich is delicious but makes a mess and requires at least a dozen napkins. Not a bad thing either. The globs of Cheese Whiz on the steak and all the juice on the pork sandwich made a mess. This place gives meaning to "finger licking good." I would not wear a suit and tie while eating their sandwiches.

Now I can finally say to New Yorkers, save yourself the trip to Philadelphia. You have a restaurant in Staten Island that makes food as good as the BEST in Philadelphia.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peppertree5706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaggy's Original Cheesesteak also viewed

Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing