We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice base location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staten Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge New York
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice base location”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I took my wife to New York to go to the Today Show. The price for the Navy Lodge was great at $101.00 a night , we arrived on Sunday evening with check-out Monday morning. Room was very clean and had the usual Navy Lodge mini frig and microwave. They will be renovating the Lodge in the spring so that may reduce room availability in the spring of 2014. Asked the front desk clerk how to get to the Staten Island ferry and she was spot on it is like a 10 minute drive from the Navy Lodge. When you exit Fort Wadsworth through the main gate stay on that road and it will take you to the ferry terminal which will be on the right. The cost to park at the terminal was only $8 for 18 hours and the ferry is free. If starting your day before 5am the ferries only run on the hour until 5am. The green subway line 4&5 will get you to Grand Central Station and the Rockefeller Center is a short walk from there or a cheap taxi ride to the show area. We also went to FAO Schwarz which is at the GM building on 5th Ave we walked there and enjoyed the holiday decorations on 5th Ave the different store had in place. Central park is across the street from FAO Schwarz and they start at 10am. Be sure to look at the pricing for the ride closely, It is $50 for a couple and $20 for each additional rider.

Room Tip: The last exit for the Verazanno bridge is closed so take exit 13 off of I278 and turn left at the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lance O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
53
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night so we could visit the 9/11 Memorial. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. This is a typical Navy Lodge with a small kitchen area and basic room amenities. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the price was right. We took the ferry (free!!) to Manhattan and it was a short to the Memorial. The hotel is located on an old Army fort with a number of historical sites to see.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Interesting location, clean rooms, unbeatable price! The a/c sounded like a jet revving for takeoff but other than that, the room was fine. We wanted to see Manhattan but didn't want to pay $400/night. At $101, this fit the bill. Everyday we drove to the ferry, parked there for $7, then walked to the port and took the 20 minute ride to Battery Park on NYC's free ferry service. The view from the boat was fantastic and Battery Park was a good place to start the day with taxis ($2.50 min) and a subway ($2.75) nearby to take you anywhere in Manhattan.

Thank you Navy and USCG for this nice lodging facility for people on a budget. Oh yeah, New Yorkers are right about the pizza-it's the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BDG206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here with our two granddaughters while visiting NYC in June 2012. This was the perfect "home base" for us to use the metro system to see all the attractions on our list for five days. Only problem was the main gate was the only gate open at night and the lodge is on the other end of the property. This required us to park outside the main gate to take the bus to Staten Island Ferry and return in the evening. Still, we will always stay here when visiting the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pagescreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Drum, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Clean room, very nice staff, only 2.6 miles outside the Bay st gate to the Staten Island Ferry.....also the walls were thick and I was able to have a great nights sleep all 3 nights! They even had rollaway beds free so the kids had plenty of room! I highly recommend for an affordable place to stay that is clean and the staff is great! There is even breakfast of yogurt, muffins, coffee, water and apples! The Ferry parking is $8 a day and free on Sundays! The showers were like pressure washers! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor and had NO problem with any noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family stayed here with our 5yo and 2yo. It was a good first trip to NY. We drove our car here from MA due to needing it to get to the Ferry Terminal. The drive was a lot longer than expected due to bad traffic, and extensive roadworks close to the turn off for the Lodge made it difficult to know how to get there and this added an extra 30 mins or so onto our trip. We tried to follow the directions on the Navy Lodge Website, but this wasn't easy to do with all the roadwork.

We enjoyed the Ferry Ride from Staten Island and seeing the Statue of Liberty. Parking right at the Ferry Terminal was inexpensive. Next time we would look out for a special deal and stay in Manhattan, as so much time was taken up in travelling there (more than usual due to trackwork on the Subway line that weekend) and the extra money to stay somewhere more centrally, and for more comfortable accommodation, would be worth it.

Be aware that the sleeping area is one big room so there is nowhere to close a door when children are sleeping which meant for us that when the kids went to bed we hung out in the lobby which is comfortable with couches and tables.

Also, the doors must be very thin, as every time anyone in the corridor went into their room the door slammed shut and it woke us up- very loud. Earplugs are a must.

The air conditioner was also very loud- it sounded like a plane taking off every time it went on! We had to switch it off to sleep even though it was a very warm night.

We are very thankful that this accommodation is available at such a good price, but for our next trip to NY we will save up some pennies, look out for specials, and stay somewhere better located and more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KADouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Navy Lodge on Staten Island is as good if not better than any Navy Lodge we've stayed in. The only downside is the distance to NYC and the fact that the gate next to the Lodge closes at 7pm every nite so the bus route changes and you have a choice of walking a mile or crawling under the fence (I didn't say that but that is what the locals do). I highly recommend it for the $100 a nite in savings over staying in the City but think bed and breakfast in the City as an option.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staten Island hotels
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge New York

Property: Navy Lodge New York
Address: 408 N Path Rd, Staten Island, NY 10305-5000
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note, you must present a valid military ID upon check-in in order to stay at the Navy Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge New York Hotel Staten Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing