We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great combination of food and service”
Review of Filippo's Ristorante Italiano - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Filippo's Ristorante Italiano
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hope, New Jersey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great combination of food and service”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

While there are many fine Italian restaurants in Staten Island but few offer an intimate atmosphere with good food and service. Filippo's is unique in that respect. The restaurant is in a strip commercial building but the interior is nice but not spectacular inside. It could use an updating to match the cuisine.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My daughters college graduation was high lighted by the luncheon we had at Filippo's”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I went into trip advisor to search out Italian restaurants in Staten Island New York to take my daughter and family to for lunch following her College graduation. I went strictly by the reviews, menu and pricing. No one I know has ever gone to this restaurant before. Well I am here to tell you that they have greatly missed out on a wonderful meal. The food was superior, the service excellent and the pricing very reasonable. We had a wonderful celebratory family meal and even had leftovers to take home. I highly recommend this restaurant. It was an incredible, pleasant surprise.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mitsle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best veal parmigian!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Filippos about 3 times. As soon as you walk in you are always greeted and the wait staff is very attentive. My boyfriend always gets the veal parmigian its delicious. On my visit today for an appetizer I had the clams in garlic and tomato sauce. I asked them to make the sauce alittle spicy. Let's just say me and my boyfriend were soaking up the sauce with bread it was so good. I tried the bolognese sauce with fusilli pasta it was very tasty and the pasta was cooked perfectly. I'm very picky about bolognese sauce and it was perfect. Definitely a do over.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delectable!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had dinner for the first time tonnight at Filippo's. I didnt have a reservation and were seated immediately with a dear friend of mine. Bread basket was put on the table and had 2 glasses of house wine. Shared assorted appetizer platter which had shrimp, mozzarella, roasted peppers, baked clams. The platter only contained 2 of each but it was satisfying. As my entree, I have chicken saltimboca, It was very moist and cooked well. Coffee and sorbet for dessert. Bill came to $108. .I will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lann718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place is awesome! The food is phenomenal!! The sangria is the best I've ever tasted. We will be back again and again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latina1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filippo's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing