We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but staff makes it but worth the $$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small but staff makes it but worth the $$”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

When we checked in, our original room had no drapes to block out the street lights, but the front desk staff were courteous and immediately moved us to a different room without hesitation. Rooms are a bit small and the furnishings aren't anything spectacular, but you get what you paid for. The pillows were nice and comfy but the beds..ouch! I felt like I was lying on the box spring instead of the actual mattress.

But the highlight of our stay had to be Stephen, who runs the lounge/breakfast bar. He was amazing!! Very friendly and personable, just the kind of personality that makes a hotel memorable! He was constantly fawning over us as if we were at a bed & breakfast, making sure we had more than enough to eat (I LOVED the automatic pancake maker machine! Where can I get one of those?), and was constantly keeping all the guests updated on when the next batch of eggs/sausages would be ready. He also walked around to each table offering fresh fruit to, and I quote, "keep your energy up cause no one goes hungry on my watch!!!" HOW AWESOME IS THAT?!

All in all, Holiday Inn was extremely clean (I think it's a newly built location), and everyone was more than friendly, from the front desk staff, to the service staff you'd come across in the halls and elevator. But if anything, go for Stephen. Seriously, he made me anxious for breakfast time.

Room Tip: If you need a vending machine, stay away from floors 5/4/2. Also don't stay on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiishoegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    120
    48
    20
    16
See reviews for
144
48
21
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel is 30' to staten island ferry terminal with free shuttle (except mon- tue you should rely on nearby bus stop). Hotel provide 0800, 1000 departures & 1900, 2100, 2200 return trips. You should know that minibus service is shared with nearby confort inn & shuttle booking in advance is recommended. Hot breakfast in provided for free & wifi works well.Hotel service is great, staff very helpful & accomodating. Great value for ny visit provided you suit shuttle times or have a rental car. there's a car parking next to ferry terminal that charges 8 bucks flat rate per day. all in all great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeronimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel was nice. My business was on Staten Island so the location was perfect. The hotel staff was extremely friendly, especially Josie at the front desk. I had a confrontation with a rude guest in the hotel parking lot late at night (who turned out to be a guest of the hotel next door!) and Josie was friendly and sympathetic and made the troubles melt away. The room was nice & clean. Quality is comparable to other nicer HIEs. Price was a little on the high end but I don't think you'll find anything cheaper in the area. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Steve in the breakfast cafe was amazing. Most of the guests knew him by name. Steve was constantly cleaning, replacing food and offering fruit to guests. He showed me how to work the pancake maker. My Dad and I looked forward to breakfast every morning of our visit.

The rooms were clean. Josie at the front desk went above and beyond to help with directions and any questions about the city.

Linda NS

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express, Staten Island. We appreciate your comments and proud to see that we exceeded all of your expectations. On your travels back to Staten Island NYC, please come stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is long over due. After being in cooperstown for a baseball tournament, we decided to venture to New york city. We were told to stay in staton island because of the convenience to take the ferry to manhatten. We stayed at the hotel in July for one night. Upon arrival, the staff was amazing! I could not print off my passes for the 9/11 memorial at home. Josie was on top of it! Printed them off for us, gave us printed directions to the ferry, recommendations for food! She was so awesome!!!! The deal we got on the Internet for each room was unbelievable! It was almost 75% less then a room in manhattan. Room was comfortable for four. The guy in the breakfast area was so overwhelmed because the hotel was full but he made sure that each guest had plenty of food. I will highly recommend this hotel to our friends! Thanks Josie!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your experience at our hotel. I am proud to hear that our Breakfast Attendant Steven and Josie at Front Desk were most helpful to you and made a great impression. I hope that if your travels ever bring you back to this area again that you come and visit. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Clean, tidy, modern and relatively cheap. Great free breakfast, good fitness room and very friendly staff. I stayed here while on holiday and spent most of my days in NYC commuting back and forth. It's about a 30 minute taxi ride from the hotel to the ferry port ($25). There is also a free shuttle to the port ran by the hotel but this can fill up quickly and the times may not suite some people. Try the MTA bus. The bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel and runs 24 hours. Reception can give you the timetable. In 2012 the bus numbers where 62 & 92, the 92 being the express version of the 62. You can use the MTA card on the bus, the journey is around 40 minutes and costs $2.25. Once you're at the ferry terminal, it takes about half an hour to get across. You're looking at over an hours commute into NYC so make sure this suits before you book. Lets be honest, a FREE ferry's a pretty awesome way to be getting into the city! I still cant believe that things FREE! This hotel is vastly cheaper than Manhattan equivalents and far better quality. You're money really will go a lot further staying outside of NYC. If you want NYC on the cheap but want a nice, clean, modern and friendly hotel, this one's perfect! ;-D

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardYoung1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
311 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed 9/20-9/21 for a family funeral. The hotel is clean, comfortable, affordable and great location. The staff were all pleasant and helpful, greeting you at every opportunity. The breakfast was hearty and kept in check by an animated gentleman named Stephen- who was always available to please. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
2.8 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Carteret - Rahway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Address: 300 Wild Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-4710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express hotel is conveniently situated in one of New York's five boroughs, in the heart of Staten Island, very convenient to Newark Liberty Airport and northern New Jersey sites. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Arts & Science Museum is close by. Historic Richmond Town, a restored village and museum complex devoted to life on Staten Island; National Lighthouse Museum, Staten Island Zoo, Richmond County Bank Ballpark Home of the Staten Island Yankees, John A. Noble Maritime Collection An education program with art, history, drama, music, and boat trips to the ships' graveyards of New York are all within walking distance from this hotel. The Staten Island Ferry sails into Downtown Manhattan till late night...and is a highlight unto itself. Free! There's the Verrazano Bridge as well as a choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Staten Island Hotel Staten Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing