We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View..”
Review of The Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbor House
staten island new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful View..”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I dislike giving poor reviews,however I will start with what is excellent about the Harbor House..The view is incredible..NY Skyline..right in front of you, the Verrazano to the right..also the Alice Austin House is a wonderful place to take a morning walk..or sit and absorb the beautiful scenery,sitting by the tree,with the wraparound bench that is in front of the Alice Austin House..tranquility..The Harbor House is welcoming..on the water..a very nice sitting area outside...upon entering..is the breakfast area,set up with coffee maker, toaster..what you would find in a motel,that serves a continental breakfast..and that is the type of breakfast you will receive..on the table in the morning you will find cereal ( in plastic containers) the coffee will be made,or tea if you like..and the only other item I saw for breakfast was a few rolls or croissants in a breadbox..I have been to several B&B's,this one is the first that served so little, not that I am a big breakfast eater, I'm not,however it was less than a continental breakfast..My room... the view from it was as I said incredible...but.. the decor was to say ridiculous..the bed was uncomfortable, the sheets..thin cotton almost see through, the floral bedspread was something you would see at a budget motel..I felt like it wasn't clean..it clashed with the stripe drapes..the chair in the room was stained & filthy,the dresser was old, cracked chipped..the rug, i wouldn't walk on without socks...the bathroom was ok, but could have been cleaned better..in essence I was disappointed..the owners should definitely consult an interior designer to make the rooms inviting...It's a beautiful house in a wonderful area..walking distance to the bus to the ferry..the area also has a good Trattoria in walking distance, a deli,Dunkin Donuts,subway,and a delicious bakery.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the Skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandNative725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    41
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
45
58
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've been to Harbor house twice before my recent visit. This time it was for my 3rd year anniversary. Every time we are greeted with wonder customer service and Hospitality from Moe. I consider him more of a friend than just the owner. Anytime we come we are always happy to come back again and again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Due to an approaching snow storm, I needed a place to stay so I would be close to my place of employment. The Harbor House was the closest and least expensive of the 12 hotels on Staten island.

I never stayed at a B&B before so I was concerned about the size of the room. My room was fairly large compared to a standers hotel room. There was a canopy bed, over stuffed chair, TV, sink and wifi. My room had a shared bath which was quite large for a bathroom with a shower.

The room had a radiator heat which could not be turned off. The room was very warm so I opened the window a little controlled the temperature that way.

The room could of used a fresh coat of paint as there seemed to be some scuff marks on the walls.

I departed at 3:00am so I did not experience the "breakfast" part of the B&B. But the owner did offer to set up the coffee pot for me so I would just have to turn it on. He also left out a selection of single serve cold cereal containers.

Overall, the price was right for a room that I needed to relax in during a major snow storm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endlessquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We recently stayed at The Harbor House before and after a cruise out of Manhattan. Although we arrived later than expected, we were greeted warmly by Moe. He was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us suggestions for our meals when we returned. He helped us plan our route out of Statin Island back to I-81 using a better route than our GPS used bringing us there. We saved about 2 hours travel time! Thanks, Moe. We would not hesitate to recommend The Harbor House.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I recently spent several months on staten island working on the clean -up crew during the aftermath of hurricane Sandy. I bounced around from hotel to motel for a few weeks before I stumbled across the Harbor House. I fell in love with the place...the view of the city... the wind on the ocean....The giant ships waiting to head out across the ocean
I spent the next seven months there and it truly become a second home.....
The inn itself is an amazing old mansion seated right on the water and the waves literally rock you to sleep at night and there's something wonderfully eerie and mysterious about a fog horn droning across the water during a stormy night
And then there's the innkeeper ...Mo ..who can discuss anything from politics to cricket and loves nothing more than a heartfelt debate at the breakfast table....
If your looking for anonymity ....and the services of a chain hotel...this probably isn't for you
But if you'd like to join us on the front porch and enjoy the the wind and water and an amazing view and a cup of Mo's coffee....we'll leave the light on for you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Harbor House during a recent trip to NYC. Moe was an extremely hospitable host. Each room is unique and clean. The view of the New York skyline is priceless. We will definitely be back every time we visit our daughter and her family. Keep the light on for your favorite couple from Pittsburgh Moe!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Corinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent experience on short trip 1-4 November, and managers Moe and Karima were very helpful before and during stay (quick to confirm details by email - very important - helpful on phone, and stayed late for arrival at midnight after delayed flight). All good, from room to breakfast, plus great views and the free daily cruise known as the Staten Island Ferry. Five stars.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaterCrew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staten Island hotels
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
4.4 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
355 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor House

Property: The Harbor House
Address: 1 Hylan Blvd, Staten Island, NY 10305-2001
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Harbor House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the New York Harbor with a stunning view of the Manhattan Skyline as well as the Verrazano Bridge. The NYC marathon starts at the base of the Verrazano Bridge on the Staten Island. It is a 15 minute walk from the Harbor House Bed and Breakfast to the starting line of the race. There is a bus (the S 51)one block away that stops at the St. George Ferry Terminal. You can ride the ferry for free and arrive in downtown Manhattan in 20 minutes. It is a short walk to Ground Zero from there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing