We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manhattan style; SI prices”
Review of Beso

Beso
Ranked #4 of 820 Restaurants in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Manhattan style; SI prices”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent food with Manhattan "cool" atmosphere. Located across the street from the SI Ferry. We love selecting a whole group of tapas dishes as our dinner, which makes the price of dinner very reasonable. Outstanding white or red sangria!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    103
    21
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great 1st Date Meet and Greet Place”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I love beso! (It mean's "kiss" in Spanish. What could be better for a first date?) It is the perfect place to meet for a quick drink for one of those "meet and greet" online dating experiences. If you live on Staten Island, and you are meeting someone from another borough. or if you are from another borough and wish to meet someone who lives on Staten Island, Beso is the best spot. It's a walk across the street from the ferry, not an unpleasant ride at the right time of day/night, and the food is great. Try the guacomole, the queso frito, and the sueños. You can't go wrong. You can sit at the bar and have some of their homemade sangria and share an appetizer. No big commitments, just a nice evening. Maybe you will get lucky! You never know, could happen. Whatever the outcome, you'll have delicious tapas and great sangria.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Come to St. George and eat a fabulous dinner”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beso is perfect if you are going to the St. George theater. The tapas menu has many good choices . Beso gets busy , so go early or eat late, or just enjoy a cocktail at the bar. Staten Island has very good places to eat, and if your in St.George this is the place to eat. There is parking off street, but sometimes hard to find. If your taking the ferry you just walk up the ramps cross Bay and Schuyler is the tiny side street next to the Court.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NRichards64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful food, good music. Good service charming atmosphere and good service. My favorite restaurant in Staten Island.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBrown6074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have eaten all over the US, NYC (city of food) and several areas of Europe. Of course different types of food deserve a review in their own class but of all this is my very favorite ever ever! I love the atmosphere, the staff is always friendly and helpful and OMG the food! I love love love the food. Gourmet spin on tapas and every one is delicious, fabulous, wonderful, and spectacular. Dinner is the meal to go for and this is where my husband knows to take me for a special treat! It is a bit pricey but well worth it and very convenient directly across from the Staten Island Ferry. Try some of the fantastic sangria! And save room for desert too! It's all amazing! One tough bit, no reservations/first come first servce. Get there early I've seen people wait in line for 2 hours on a Fri/Sat night!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustSayin-HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beso also viewed

Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Beso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing