We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an oasis! italian taste and american welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Enoteca Maria

Enoteca Maria
Ranked #15 of 816 Restaurants in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: With two Kitchens, and while one is always staffed by an Italian Grandmother, we simultaneously feature a Grandmother from another country cooking up their cultural cuisine.. We are proud to present, Nonnas of the World! thank you for supporting our efforts to celebrate every Culture... warmly Jody Scaravella Enoteca Maria
padova
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“an oasis! italian taste and american welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

in a sunny and thirsty day on july enoteca maria was like an oasis in staten island! me and my family were searching for something special near the ferry, we went aruond the pier but notjinh was what we whished. when we followed the hill and serendipitously me and my child said " this inspires me". an italian gay and an american one invited us and the brunch was immediately ready and exquisite. let them suggest you... everyday a different italian woman prepare different courses, according to her provenience. we must come back and taste something else this year

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tizianaitaly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    17
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow -- now that's Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The most amazing Italian wine list I have ever seen, carefully tended by a proprietor who knows his stuff. The menu offers both adventurous and classic options from around Italy, cooked by an array of all-star nonnas -- grandmas, literally. The night we were there the accent was on Sicily, and the food was incredible, reflecting the reigning nonna's expert touch and a variety of fresh ingredients: no heavy red sauce here. It's well worth the trip to Staten Island -- this place is just up the street from the ferry -- to eat this well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scribblewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
258 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Home made by a different cook each month”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

What a truly unique restaurant; every month this restaurant has a different (Italian) cook, preparing various dishes. The food is wonderful, so innovative, so delicious. It is not cheap, but well worth the trip (it's not far from the ferry). However, ONLY cash is accepted, so be sure you are prepared.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow - very stange menu, hope you like sheep parts.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Be careful of the other ratings they do not seem true, very odd menu, not really Italian.
A lot of high priced sheep parts on the menu. Only takes cash and you sit at a steel table right next to everybody else.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“delicissimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

This place was 3 mins from B&B and a really fantatstic place to experience...italiano!! Food superb, very friendly staff and management (esp when u repeat visits over a week lol) they know their food and their wine. Totally worth the visit even if not staying on Staten island. For the quality and quantity totally worth it

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank solotravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Maria also viewed

 
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Enoteca Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing