We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunt Lodge master Suite disappointing”
Review of Belvedere Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staatsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belvedere Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Staatsburg B&B and Inns
fort lee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hunt Lodge master Suite disappointing”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I just returned from a 1 night stay in Belverdere Mansion's Hunt Lodge master suite and was very disappointed. The pictures from the website look spectacular but the master suite is old, musky, and underwhelming. The furniture has a nice feel to the room but dont try to open or close the draws because they may fall off. In addition, the rooms could be cleaner, especially the bathroom. In terms of service, we came about 20 minutes before check-in and they stated we needed to wait, even though the room was ready. In addition, dont expect pleasant service at the front desk, as both times we were treated with curt responses. I understand Belverdere Mansion is not a hotel and is a bit under staffed but for $450 a night I expect better service and a clean room. Gorgeous website but not so Gorgeous place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anson c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    21
    14
    22
    40
See reviews for
29
55
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and i went up for an overnight stay this past weekend to explore Rhinebeck with our toddler. Given the unexpected snow storm, it was a bit of a stressful trip to begin, but i must say that the service and hospitality at this B&B was very enjoyable. Havnig read a few reviews on trip advisor, after booking, i was a bit nervous given some of the negativity. But the staff was great, the property very elegant, and even with a power outage caused by the snowstorm, we genuinely enjoyed the property. Also w/ the little one in tow, they were very accomodating providing us with a late checkout as to not disrupt his sleeping/eating schedule. I would def go back

Room Tip: staying in the mansion itself appears to be the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

If there were a rating in between average and poor, maybe that's what I would rate the Belvedere Mansion. My husband and I attended the wedding of a dear friend - in order to have her wedding there, she had to guarantee to fill ALL the rooms on the property, and there was no discounted room rate. Full price for each room ($300+ in the mansion). Perhaps it was that the leaves had changed, or I needed a break from everyday life, or the romance of the occasion, but I warmed to the place. Initially, it feels like the mansion from "Great Expectations" - a faded former glory. No televisions, towels wedged under the a/c units to make them "fit" in the cutouts, NO shower curtains on the claw foot tub, threadbare area rugs. It's like shabby chic with the emphasis on the shabby.

The front desk alternated being friendly and rude - we were practically yelled at because we didn't hear that there were no room numbers, got an eye roll for asking for directions to the main road to the church, but they shrugged and chuckled when I lost my room key (which is tremendous and impossible to lose). There are no amenities. No turn down, no extra pillows, blankets, wake up calls (no phones), etc. If you forget something, they won't have a travel size of it. The bed was very comfortable.

The wedding was in a tent attached to the back of the mansion. It was pouring, teeming outside but not a drop of rain got into the tent. The wedding was lovely - the coordinator worked well with the bride and the tent looked romantic and rustic. The food was excellent. Because of the age of the property, all the rooms in the mansion - the breakfast room, the bar, the room where hors d'oeuvres - were small, but felt cozy rather than cramped. There was a lounging area set up outdoors where people went to smoke, chat, etc. which ended up being nice once it stopped raining and dried a bit. The bar was tiny but a fun way to end the night with a lot of other guests and the bridal party. Not a big selection.

The property is broken up into separate buildings with badly lit gravel pathways - a Lodge (think chintz, deer antlers and fireplaces), a Zen Lodge (think miniscule rooms painted red with black night stands and newer bathrooms with stone showers but clear plastic shower curtains), the Mansion itself, and a strip of rooms that looked like mini Bates Motel. There was a shared deck with Adirondack loungers outside of our room, but instead of facing the glorious view of the Hudson valley, it faced the little Bates Motel. There were three cans of wasp spray sitting on the outside of the a/c units, and dead stinkbugs, etc., trapped in the window screens.

The clincher was our bathtub. It had a rubber/plastic attachment over the faucet that you were supposed to hold over your head to shower with. No curtain, remember. And, if you turned the attachment in any number of ways, it kinked, filled the cup at the attachment, and popped off. We were laughing by that point, having fun, enjoying ourselves, but there is a reason there are no detailed photos on their website. I assume the owners try to book as many weddings as possible and just let the guests deal with their unwillingness to update their property.

We had a wonderful time at the wedding, enjoyed the quaint shops, restaurants and artsy atmosphere of the town of Rhinebeck, and would love to visit again, but would absolutely have to stay someplace where the accommodations justifies the price.

Room Tip: The suites in the Lodge looked like the best bet, and they're at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Either you like it or you hate it, or so go the reviews for this interesting property fortuitously situated between Hyde Park and Rhinebeck.

This is not a hotel.

I say that because if you go to the Belvedere expecting any of the amenities offered by a hotel charging the same nightly rates you will simply hate this place.

Yes, the bathroom is too small, Yes, the room smells musty. Yes the decor is kitsch. So, bring some Febreeze (we did), shut off the lights, and put your leg around your head while using the loo, and get to the business of romance in the Hudson Valley.

The mansion itself is both opulent and decadent (thematic in this area), elegant and decrepit. The ambience is in between the lines. If you don't read there, stay elsewhere. We spent some time in the gazebo (structurally unsound, but very quaint) at night sipping some 2005 Bordeaux we had brought along with us. It was a very cool evening, so we cuddled, sipped, kissed and went to our Carriage house room, turning on the gas fireplace (which heats the small room quickly and doesn't look too shabby) and...

Breakfast (included) was very nice and the food was fresh and tasty.

We played tennis one morning. The court is not well maintained, but, that in between the lines thing again.

We drove around. Lovely vistas, good antiquing, good eats. We stopped off at some obligatory places (the Vanderbilt mansion,etc.) all within a few minutes. For our experience at the CIA and the Beekman Arms Inn, please find reviews elsewhere.

All in all, a nice romantic getaway that's not a hotel. Add a star if wealth in decay turns you on. The Hudson valley is not to be missed in October. Take away 2-3 if none of this interests you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SemioticSymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This was really a mixed experience. The setting is beautiful, the two-room suite was perfect for a family of three, and the breakfast was excellent. The problem was the front-desk service and specifically the manager, with whom we had repeated poor interactions, and had the feeling she was doing us a favor by letting us stay there - at one point she loudly berated us for having the temerity to ask if there was any possibility of early check-in so our toddler could take his nap after our long drive. But that did not spoil the visit, and the inn does have its charms. But next year we'll be going back to Buttermilk Falls!

Room Tip: stay away from Zen rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherief M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Never again will I be seduced by a hotel web site without checking Trip Advisor!

Like the other negative reviews listed, I too had a terrible night in the strangely named "Zen Lodge" at Belvedere Mansion. The name conjures up peace, tranquility and serenity but only a Zen Master could perhaps ignore the dingy, dark space saturated with a musty, moldy smell that pervaded the room. We tried to air the room out by turning on the air conditioner but it was filthy inside which we knew because it fell apart when we tried to turn it on. When we went to bed, the heat (no controls to be found) must have been on high so it was incredibly hot all night.

The lack of lighting must be an attempt to hide all sorts of things like the bloody smears from dead mosquitos on the walls and since there were no screens (or windows, by the way), mosquitos were an issue. We asked for two beds but what passed for the second bed was an ancient pull out couch that was impossible to actually sleep on.

We considered leaving in the middle of the night but it was a busy weekend in the area so there was nowhere else to go. Bottom line: stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mthomps7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staatsburg hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I always stay at the Whistlewood when we visit the area. This time we were celebrating an anniversary and the Whistlewood booked up really fast. We saw the reviews for the Belvedere Mansion and although it looks great on the website, decided to look elsewhere for a hotel.

We found nothing that was even remotely as beautiful as the Belvedere Mansion (online, photos, etc) so we booked it for a night. One room at the Carriage House. I was VERY nervous - I wanted this anniversary to be special and if the hotel was horrible then we would be upset!

Turns out its a BEAUTIFUL place. It is very quaint and the 2 of us LOVED it!

Our room had a fireplace and was very well-kept. The theme of the place is not HIGH-CLASS mansion but quaint, chic rustic hotel in the woods. That is something you need to know - for those looking for a mansion-type stay, this is not it. But those looking for a gorgeous little get-a-way in the woods with a zest of rustic fun, this is def it.

We looked at the rooms in the Mansion and those at the Zen Lodge - ALL are beautiful! The Livingston room had a pretty lookout (mansion).

The only room in the entire estate that was a bit tiny was room #7 at the Carriage House. All others we would have LOVED to stay in.

Breakfast, although we missed it (ends at 10am) was a huge hit with the guests.

All in all a huge win for us!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staatsburg
5.9 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
330 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
848 reviews
14.1 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn Hyde Park
Quality Inn Hyde Park
#2 of 4 in Hyde Park
302 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Mansion

Property: Belvedere Mansion
Address: 10 Old Route 9, Staatsburg, NY 12580-5111
Location: United States > New York > Staatsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Staatsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Belvedere Mansion Hotel Staatsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing