We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History in our backyard”

Staatsburgh State Historic Site / Mills Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Hudson Valley New York Great Estates Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mansion is beautiful, but the real appeal is in the hundreds of acres overlooking the Hudson River.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“History in our backyard”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I went on a Downtown Abbey tour last weekend in June. It was great. Guide dressed as a maid was excellent. I was the only person who had not seen the PBS series. After the tour I got all 3 seasons and watched them. I loved it! the mansion came to life after watching the show.
I hear Christmas is even better!! plan to return. It is also part of a state park.
Don't miss you will enjoy it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank machita17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Tour Guides are what make this attraction tops!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've visited many gilded age mansions before and what made this home different was the tour guides. They aptly describe both the history of the Mills family, and what it would have been like if you were fortunate enough to be a house guest. While it looks in definite need of repair on the outside, there are several highlights on the inside worth your time to view, including the very pink bedroom of Ruth Livingston Mills and the elegant dining room.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank epicure7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Place to see and spend time”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I visited the Mills Mansion and would reccomend touring it to anyone in the Hudson Valley area. Our tour guide Mary Ellen was very nice, personable and was knowledgable about the history of the home. We toured both floors of the home. They have a nice gift shop also with books, cats meow collectibles, etc. The grounds are great too. The view of the Hudson river is very impressive. It must have been great to live here many years ago!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank murphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Downton Abbey and Mills Mansion”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I reserved the "Downton Abbey" tour of the Mills Mansion. Our tour guides dressed as house maids and head housekeeper in keeping with the theme of the lives of upstairs downstairs inhabitants of the Mills Mansion. We were delighted to see so much of the mansion and given many details of the lives of Ogden Mills and his family. This is a must see if you like turn of the century history!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mainegirlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful mansion with a homey feel!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This mansion is undergoing renovations, but that didn't hinder the tour...we entered through a rear entrance which actually made the tour more interesting. While certainly opulent, the mansion has a homey feel. Our tour guide was great...she was very knowledgable and was very willing to answer questions about the areas not open to the public. Our group had only four people so she showed us some areas not yet renovated. We dont think larger groups would be allowed to do that.
This home tour has several stair climbs so if you cant handle stairs you will miss a lot.
For those intrigued by life in the Guilded Era, this mansion is a must see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireBaylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staatsburgh State Historic Site / Mills Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Staatsburgh State Historic Site / Mills Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing