We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Unique and Memorable Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spencer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Log Country Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Spencer B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Unique and Memorable Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

If you want to be near Ithaca but slightly off the beaten path, this is the perfect B&B. The owner and family are super friendly and the rooms and comfortable and clean. And it also has a lot of other pleasant and quirky charms, from the folk art and unusual furniture that distinguishes each room, to the Eastern European breakfasts, to having an audience there with Dalai the Llama. I have stayed there twice now and will always come back here when I visit Ithaca.

  • Liked — The owners and the other friendly people that stayed there. The quiet and isolation of the location.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kryztian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2008

The Log Country Inn offers a vastly different experience than you would find in Ithaca. The serenity and isolation can be either a pleasure or a nuisance depending on what you are looking for. Coming from New York City, my fiancee and I found the isolation and nature of the surrounding national park absolutely beautiful.

I was initially skeptical as the long winding road to get there reminded me slightly of the movie "Misery". Fearing a "Kathy Bates" moment, I drove with trepidation. However, upon reaching the inn, Wanda, the inn keeper was extremely friendly and welcoming. She immediately showed us to our rooms and when we asked about billing/credit cards she said "don't worry, we take care of it later".

To clarify, this is not a 5-star resort with top amenities. Our room was clean but there was some cobwebs and rust around some of the fixtures (it is a log cabin after all...) Additionally there was a very strong smell of sulfer in the shower. Nonetheless, we enjoyed the serenity and peacefulness of the area. We did several hikes just around the property and surrounding parkland before heading into Ithaca.

The most truly magnificent part of the stay: The BREAKFAST! Wanda's Ukrainian pancakes and blintzes are world class and I still crave them often!

  • Liked — the breakfast- worth the price of the stay alone!
  • Disliked — Smell of sulpher and water pressure in the bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark Valley, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

My husband and I spent one night in the charming Log Country Inn B&B and can't say enough about it. We live only 30-40 minutes away in similarly rural surroundings, but I had arranged this as a surprise Valentine's Day getaway after reading fun things about it on the inn's Web site. I knew, for example, that Wanda the owner was a former biologist from Poland who loved animals and had a great reputation for her Eastern European breakfasts; I knew that there were animals on the grounds that I could interact with--and that it was a pet-friendly B&B; and I had enjoyed looking at Web photos of the different rooms and suites that were decorated according to international themes (Polish, Russian, Persian, Tibetan, Japanese, etc.).

When we arrived, Wanda came out on the porch with a warm greeting before we were up to the steps and then gave us a tour of the room we had booked as well as one that happened to be free and included a TV (O.K., so we have a bit of a "Lost" habit and needed to know the identity of the Oceanic 6).

We ended up sticking with my original choice, the Polish Jacuzzi room, because it was so cozy and magical (see photos) that we felt like a couple of very happy hobbits while inhabiting that space. And, of course, we still got our "Lost" fix that evening in the living room sitting next to a wood stove and Wanda's friendly cats Imo and Peachy. Somehow we coped.

This was all after Wanda had given us our welcome Russian tea-- served with raspberry sauce, some ridiculously delicious Polish chocolate wafer dessert, and relaxed conversation--and then introduced us to Nasza the St. Bernard per my request. Nasza is the kind of love muffin dog who kisses your face and rolls over so you can never stop rubbing her tummy. We could have gone on a hike with her on the very extensive grounds but opted to visit the barn instead. Wanda came along to keep an eye on Cici the Goose, who is in love with Fluffy the Chicken and tends to be protective. We had no problems from Cici (just honks) and a delightful time feeding a carrot to Junior the Miniature Horse and petting Fluffy and Robot the Rooster. A handy thing to know about all this is that if you are not an animal lover, you need never be troubled by them while staying here, but if you DO go nuts for them, you will be in heaven.

I could go on, but I'll just finish with the great breakfast of Russian pancakes and scrambled eggs we had: soooo delicious and soooo much food (heaping portions that don't end until you cry uncle). The other couple at the table was also local and had been coming to the inn for five years. Turns out Wanda has had a very loyal following for twenty years, and we now know why firsthand. No question: we'll be coming back and recommending this place to anyone we know looking for somewhere to stay in the Ithaca/Owego/Spencer area.

  • Liked — The cool room and the at-home feeling with Wanda and all the animals
  • Disliked — I enjoyed every moment.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemtwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

There are not many family (and pet) friendly bed and breakfasts but this one certainly is.

Wanda is welcoming to everyone. The rooms are all decorated differently with artifacts from around the world reflecting the fact that Wanda's husband is a noted documentary filmmaker who has been involved with documentaries all around the world.

Breakfasts are interesting and yummy, reflecting Wanda's eastern European heritage.

The grounds are large and have a lot of interesting things to explore.

Note that some of the rooms are a drive (or long walk) to the main house so if that bothers you try to stay by the main house.

  • Liked — Family friendly bed and breakfast
  • Disliked — Rooms are decorated very interestingly but are small
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmhmmm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

Wanda, the proprietor of the Log Country Inn B&B, has been in the business for over 20 years -- and it shows. We immediately felt welcomed and at home. The grounds are incredibly peaceful, in the middle of beautiful woods, but not far from Ithaca NY.

Wanda helped us a lot with directions and suggestions of nearby things to do (parks and Ithaca town), and cooked incredible breakfasts. Being vegetarian was no problem either.

There are many trails on Wanda's (HUGE) property, bordering a state forest reserve -- so you are really in the thick of it. She even keeps a few animals, including a very aggressive goose!

My fiancee and I traveled to her inn to get away for a weekend, and it was exactly what we needed. I would definitely go back!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank MizK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in the "Polish Room" which
had a huge, comfortable bed. We had our own log cabin backing on to the woods. It snowed and was very romantic. Wanda's delicious Polish breakfasts were a revalation.

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — far away from Ithaca
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonEel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Log Country Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Country Inn B&B

Property: Log Country Inn B&B
Address: 4 Larue Rd, Spencer, NY 14883-9657
Location: United States > New York > Tioga County > Spencer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Spencer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come spend a few relaxing nights at our Bed and Breakfast, Log Country Inn Bed and Breakfast of Ithaca. Established in 1987, we are located right on the edge of state forest and only 11 miles South of Ithaca College and Cornell University. Our Inn is a perfect "getaway" spot, where you can hike, walk, grill and even swim in the summer. Our location is great for reunions, family gatherings or solo relaxation.During your stay in Ithaca, you can of course explore the finger lakes region, take a tour of the amazing wineries, and hike Ithaca's beautiful gorges, which are all just a 10-15 minute ride away.We are very pet and child friendly, so please do not hesitate to bring all members of your family along. Come make yourself at home and enjoy traditional European breakfasts made by your host, Wanda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Spencer
Spencer Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing