We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dog-Friendly B&B - a welcome retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spencer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Log Country Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Spencer B&B and Inns
Astoria, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Dog-Friendly B&B - a welcome retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed over Labor Day weekend this year, and rented the Russian Jacuzzi Suite for ourselves and our 2 dogs. Another couple - friends of ours - stayed in the Japanese Jacuzzi Suite at the same time. We all enjoyed the grounds - Wanda was super-accepting of dogs, even letting the run around off-leash on the property and joining us in the main room for breakfast each morning. That meant a lot.

The breakfasts were very hearty and filling, but they were a little quick to scoot us away from the table after we were done (I believe this was done in order to make room for more guests - if all her rooms were rented, there would be no way everybody would fit around the breakfast table, so she has to stagger the eating times).

Quick trip in/out of Ithaca, and a fully-stocked kitchen in our room allowed us to stay in one night and make dinner.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucybaby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I've now stayed at Wanda's Log Country Inn twice: first with a group of friends in 2005, and more recently I stayed on my own, while visiting with friends in Ithaca, NY. In 2005, about 10 of us stayed in the "silk road" building, sharing a large kitchen (with nice windows and a view of the meadow), two living room spaces, and several bathrooms and bedrooms. We all raved about the Inn. It is clean and is warmly decorated. She has free wireless in the main house.
Wanda makes delicious breakfasts: blinis, potato pancakes, eggs, fresh fruit, all really wonderful. She is flexible and kind, and provides a relaxed atmosphere. This year, traveling on my own, I asked to stay in a small room in the log cabin (the main building) and it was very nice and quiet. One can hike the area around, and it is about 15 minutes to town by car. She also welcomes pets.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

This really is a big log cabin with additional outbuildings on a rural property outside Ithaca. Gorgeous rooms with interesting decor, some rooms with jacuzzi tubs. Great host -- Wanda -- is warm, friendly and prepares an amazing and extensive breakfast. Loved this spot.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheScribe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

This b&b was amazing. HUGE jacuzzi suite with a fridge, two beds, stove, tv with dvd player. My husband and I went here for our short honeymoon the day after we got married. Wanda made amazing breakfasts for us every morning... she is a very kind woman and her husband is somewhat of a celebrity (we watched some of his documentaries that were very well made.) There was also a man staying there a friend from Poland who I found very interesting. He spoke to us like he had none us forever, he was very deep. The crepes were great, the coffee was strong, and this b&b was unforgettable. We had the best time, we would go into Ithaca til 2 am and wanda didnt care. She said.. 'right now this is your home.' we stayed in the japanese suite and bought her a porcelein figurine for the room when we left. beautiful memory.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

Stayed there with my family and dog for a couple of days. Wanda is accommodating and prepare amazing breakfast every morning. A very cozy place to spend a weekend. Close to the Finger Lake region with wine tasting and hiking trails 20 mins away. Definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric278840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York 13624
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

Rooms were clean. The Polish-Jacuzzi Room (in the main house had no TV in the room. Had to use the common area to watch the Wide screen tv. Awkward when others were watching programs esp. if you wanted to watch your shows. Understood some rooms did have TVs. So ask.

Wanda was very accomodating and her breakfast was outstanding. Worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pricklycacti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

Me and my boyfrined had an amazing time at Log Country Inn! The property is surrounded by the forest, which makes you feel that you are part of nature and ecosystem. Rooms are extremely clean, spacious and artisticly decorated - each room is unique. All houses have fully equiped kitchens, bbq spaces, etc,etc,etc..Wanda - the owner - is a very interesting and charming person, and Eastern European breakfasts are delicious. Property has bunch of trails, space for camp fires (this is the best part!!!), pond, and great rustic exterior views. Besides, it is 15 min away from Ithaca, where you can enjoy Water Falls in NY State Parks, trails and hiking, wine tastings, Cornell campus and nice dinners in the downtown!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astorianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Log Country Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Country Inn B&B

Property: Log Country Inn B&B
Address: 4 Larue Rd, Spencer, NY 14883-9657
Location: United States > New York > Tioga County > Spencer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Spencer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come spend a few relaxing nights at our Bed and Breakfast, Log Country Inn Bed and Breakfast of Ithaca. Established in 1987, we are located right on the edge of state forest and only 11 miles South of Ithaca College and Cornell University. Our Inn is a perfect "getaway" spot, where you can hike, walk, grill and even swim in the summer. Our location is great for reunions, family gatherings or solo relaxation.During your stay in Ithaca, you can of course explore the finger lakes region, take a tour of the amazing wineries, and hike Ithaca's beautiful gorges, which are all just a 10-15 minute ride away.We are very pet and child friendly, so please do not hesitate to bring all members of your family along. Come make yourself at home and enjoy traditional European breakfasts made by your host, Wanda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Spencer
Spencer Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing